Bangers and Mash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
awesome recipe, it's back to basics here! It's the ultimate English comfort food and my children and I love comfort food. I like cooking COMFORT FOOD recipes from every culture and the bangers and mash is a perfect iconic plate that satisfies english middle class families. the potatoes get the flavor of the gravy and the sausages when fried in the pan get "firm" but get nice and soft when baked under all those dreamy potaotes. This is something we make almost every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by retrocookinmomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Absolutely delicious! Followed the advice of another reviewer and added mushrooms to the gravy. Served with steamed veggies and fresh rolls to soak up the gravy. Everyone enjoyed it...will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Ah, bangers and mash! This recipe is pretty good, though there are certain specifications and alterations I would make. First, 'pork sausages' are a very bland description of a banger. You have to get irish sausages or bangers, not just plain pork sausages. Also, the gravy suggestion for this recipe is pretty weak...try using a fresh mushroom and onion gravy, it's much better. Other than that, its good stuff. ;]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grizzly bobby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
make sure to not use pork sausage with this recipe, but double the gravy called for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lincoln, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gillespie, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
i recently made this dish for my husband & i because we both have english hertiage.i thought at first the recipe to be strange but once i made it with all the ingredients together it turned out very lovely.trent raved over it & wants me to make it all the time.the brits have some of the best comfort food barnone:).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This is NOT bangers and mash. Rather, it is a low rent version of a shepherd's pie. Bangers and mash is a dinner of sausages with mashes potatoes on the side, served with a tasty gravy. A true bangers and mash does not call for mixes or premade gravy. As for taste, it was mediocre at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wsf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverdale, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I always make bangers and mash on the rare occasions that my store has British-style sausages for sale (pork, natural casing, not pre-cooked). This is comfort food at its finest! And it's even better if you mix some fried cabbage in with the mashed taters. The perfect meal for a chilly Autumn evening. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
My friend served this last night with a few modifications and everyone loved it! She used a chicken/apple sausage for the non-meat eaters, and the rest of us were fans. I agreed with one review about the mash being a bit dry, but that's easily resolved. My hostess said it was super easy to make and as I said, was a big hit. "Comfort food!" was a common, happy exclamation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
I didn't have beef bangers but I had pork ones instead. I made my own mashed potatoes as well. I also don't buy gravy packets so I made one up and hoped for the best. I used Chicken broth base and flour and boy, oh boy did the finished product turn out great. YUMMMEEE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAKROBERTS5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Celery Root Mash

See how to make a quick, creamy vegetable side dish.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Shooter's Steak Sandwich

Layers of seared steak and sautéed mushrooms star in this pressed sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States