Bangers and Mash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Made for my husband and he loved it. Added carrots with the onions. Came out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
UPDATE: My bf and I were at Trader Joe's this weekend. He saw Irish sausages (i.e. "bangers") in the refrigerated section. I guess if I ever attempt this again, I'll know where to find the authentic stuff! This is definitely not one my favorite Allrecipes dishes... I love bangers and mash (it's what I usually order at the Irish Pub near me - I prefer it over ANY other Irish dish), so I thought I'd give this a try. The potatoes were DRY (needed more liquid) and the banger sausages were difficult to find (my local grocer does not carry them). I ended up using large beef sausages (only ones available), but they just weren't the same. Irish food is known to be somewhat bland, so I wasn't expecting a taste explosion, just a simple stick-to-your ribs meal. I like the concept and might try again, but would make several modifications including preparing with garlic mashed potatoes (my own recipe or instant ones) and topping with a dusting of Parmesan cheese for extra flavor. Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Wonderful! I don't keep the dry gravy mixes around, so I made a basic thyme and onion gravy that was wonderful with the Irish bangers and good old mashed potatoes! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Holy comfort food, Batman! This was so great and hearty and comforting after a long hard day. I only made a couple of changes - I seasoned the gravy with salt, pepper, and sage because the stuff from the packet tasted kind of boring without any seasonings, and I had to use beef brown-and-serve breakfast links, due to my inability to find proper bangers in Wisconsin. I also topped the whole thing with a medley of shredded cheeses - cheddar, parmesean, and gruyere, using up whatever I had in the house. I agree with the other reviews, next time I'll double the gravy since it didn't really make very much. Other than that, no complaints - a fantastic dinner, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Very good and very filling. My husband loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I used Polish sausage which did give it more zing. It was okay but it didn't taste any different than if I had served everything separately. I'll have to play with it some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
It was delicious and wonderful...really satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
easy, tasty "comfort food"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Hill, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
I have been looking for a good bangers and mash recipe for a while. We made this for christmas eve and we loved it so much it will become a family favorite!! We added an extra packet of gravy and it was sooo good! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Very good recipe simliar to one my great-aunt used to make. (This one, however, is much easier thanks to packaged gravy mix!) I would suggest that those who find this bland or unimpressive try a different brand gravy mix & sausages. These really are best with traditional Irish Bangers, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Honda, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Celery Root Mash

See how to make a quick, creamy vegetable side dish.

Hasselback Potatoes

Swedish version of baked potatoes, this is the ultimate spud: tender and crisp.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States