Bangers and Mash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Wonderful! I don't keep the dry gravy mixes around, so I made a basic thyme and onion gravy that was wonderful with the Irish bangers and good old mashed potatoes! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Holy comfort food, Batman! This was so great and hearty and comforting after a long hard day. I only made a couple of changes - I seasoned the gravy with salt, pepper, and sage because the stuff from the packet tasted kind of boring without any seasonings, and I had to use beef brown-and-serve breakfast links, due to my inability to find proper bangers in Wisconsin. I also topped the whole thing with a medley of shredded cheeses - cheddar, parmesean, and gruyere, using up whatever I had in the house. I agree with the other reviews, next time I'll double the gravy since it didn't really make very much. Other than that, no complaints - a fantastic dinner, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Very good and very filling. My husband loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I used Polish sausage which did give it more zing. It was okay but it didn't taste any different than if I had served everything separately. I'll have to play with it some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
It was delicious and wonderful...really satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
easy, tasty "comfort food"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Hill, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
I have been looking for a good bangers and mash recipe for a while. We made this for christmas eve and we loved it so much it will become a family favorite!! We added an extra packet of gravy and it was sooo good! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Very good recipe simliar to one my great-aunt used to make. (This one, however, is much easier thanks to packaged gravy mix!) I would suggest that those who find this bland or unimpressive try a different brand gravy mix & sausages. These really are best with traditional Irish Bangers, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Honda, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
Ummm, maybe I did something wrong, but I'm pretty sure I followed the recipe very carefully. In the end, I wondered why I had taken such a long way around making some sausage and mashed taters with gravy. The mashers did not brown in the oven, though I did wait patiently. Finally, I pulled the dish out and realized that I really didn't have much to offer my family for dinner. So, I threw together some biscuits, baked 'em up, and served the sausage stuff over open biscuits. In the end, my family liked it "for something different", which is short for, "please don't make this again any time soon". They don't have to worry; I won't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
Absolutely delicious...A wonderfully hearty dinner for those damp chilly evenings ( or even when its sunny!) If you are tired of the same standard meatloaf, chili , pot roast dinners ...this one is for you!! We love our meat and potaoes in Indiana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Celery Root Mash

See how to make a quick, creamy vegetable side dish.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Shooter's Steak Sandwich

Layers of seared steak and sautéed mushrooms star in this pressed sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States