Bangers and Mash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This is NOT bangers and mash. Rather, it is a low rent version of a shepherd's pie. Bangers and mash is a dinner of sausages with mashes potatoes on the side, served with a tasty gravy. A true bangers and mash does not call for mixes or premade gravy. As for taste, it was mediocre at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wsf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverdale, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I always make bangers and mash on the rare occasions that my store has British-style sausages for sale (pork, natural casing, not pre-cooked). This is comfort food at its finest! And it's even better if you mix some fried cabbage in with the mashed taters. The perfect meal for a chilly Autumn evening. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
My friend served this last night with a few modifications and everyone loved it! She used a chicken/apple sausage for the non-meat eaters, and the rest of us were fans. I agreed with one review about the mash being a bit dry, but that's easily resolved. My hostess said it was super easy to make and as I said, was a big hit. "Comfort food!" was a common, happy exclamation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
I didn't have beef bangers but I had pork ones instead. I made my own mashed potatoes as well. I also don't buy gravy packets so I made one up and hoped for the best. I used Chicken broth base and flour and boy, oh boy did the finished product turn out great. YUMMMEEE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAKROBERTS5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I can't say that what I came up with is Bangers and Mash, however this was a jumping off point. I used ground turkey instead of the links, I layered green beans in there also, garlic mashed with cheese! It was awesome. I added the gravy, but left some for the top. Son LOVED it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALICIAJOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I absolutely loved this dish! I used Irish sausage from the deli to make an amazingly flavorful dish. My British husband was impressed, and can't wait until I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Excellent. I used garlic pork sausages that I had on hand, garlic mashed potatos & mushroom gravy. Served with a side of lightly steamed, quartered cabbage tossed with salt/pepper/butter & carraway seeds. We will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
We made this on a cold Sunday when the whole family was coming in. Everyone loved it, even the kids - and that's saying a lot! Now it's a favorite "comfort food".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
My husband loved this, so I've given it four stars instead of the three I was thinking of. It's comfort food in the best and worst senses--both filling and bland. That said, since I'll probably make it again for him, I recommend the following: I used four large potatoes instead of eight (!!) and still had a huge quantity of potatoes--2-3 would surely do nicely. The mashed potatoes were very dry, so I added more butter and milk. Next time, I would use chicken broth or add sour cream or cheese as suggested in some of the reviews. The potatoes also need some kind of herb (perhaps oregano) or spice(maybe a touch of curry.) Or, as one reviewer suggested, use garlic mashed potatoes. Your typical 9x9x2 glass square pan is too small, even for the reduced number of potatoes I used. You need a 9x13x2 baking dish, more gravy, and definitely to butterfly the bangers. Or, use a deeper pan. Finally, the potatoes will not brown given the temp and cooking time--after baking as directd, turn on the broiler for a minute or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
i loved this. i used ground beef beucase thats all i had and it came out great. its something easy and simple i thought and the kids liked it. you cant go wrong with meat, potatos, and gravy. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Celery Root Mash

See how to make a quick, creamy vegetable side dish.

Hasselback Potatoes

Swedish version of baked potatoes, this is the ultimate spud: tender and crisp.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States