Bangers and Mash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
This is obviously a comfort food like Mac & Cheese. Good gravy makes it. If your gravy isn't good, the dish will suffer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBI EMILEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This recipe tasted exactly like what I had in Ireland last week. I used Bratwurst and doubled the gravy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
We ate the whole pan. I loved it. It's a little labor (and pan) intensive for such a simple dish, but totally worth it. It's a wonderful comfort food for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
awesome recipe, it's back to basics here! It's the ultimate English comfort food and my children and I love comfort food. I like cooking COMFORT FOOD recipes from every culture and the bangers and mash is a perfect iconic plate that satisfies english middle class families. the potatoes get the flavor of the gravy and the sausages when fried in the pan get "firm" but get nice and soft when baked under all those dreamy potaotes. This is something we make almost every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by retrocookinmomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Absolutely delicious! Followed the advice of another reviewer and added mushrooms to the gravy. Served with steamed veggies and fresh rolls to soak up the gravy. Everyone enjoyed it...will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Ah, bangers and mash! This recipe is pretty good, though there are certain specifications and alterations I would make. First, 'pork sausages' are a very bland description of a banger. You have to get irish sausages or bangers, not just plain pork sausages. Also, the gravy suggestion for this recipe is pretty weak...try using a fresh mushroom and onion gravy, it's much better. Other than that, its good stuff. ;]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grizzly bobby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
make sure to not use pork sausage with this recipe, but double the gravy called for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lincoln, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gillespie, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
i recently made this dish for my husband & i because we both have english hertiage.i thought at first the recipe to be strange but once i made it with all the ingredients together it turned out very lovely.trent raved over it & wants me to make it all the time.the brits have some of the best comfort food barnone:).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This is NOT bangers and mash. Rather, it is a low rent version of a shepherd's pie. Bangers and mash is a dinner of sausages with mashes potatoes on the side, served with a tasty gravy. A true bangers and mash does not call for mixes or premade gravy. As for taste, it was mediocre at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wsf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverdale, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Celery Root Mash

See how to make a quick, creamy vegetable side dish.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Shooter's Steak Sandwich

Layers of seared steak and sautéed mushrooms star in this pressed sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States