Bangan ka Bhurta (Indian Eggplant) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This was excellent!!! As well as others I cooked mine over my gas burner and added some chopped garlic to the onions as they were cooking. Also added some extra s&p and a little bit of cumin as well. I tried to get this as "mushy as possible! I served mine with some homemade naan and it was soooo good. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I've never eaten this before, so I have nothing to compare it to. We had white rice and lentils along with sausage as the sides. Great combo~ We liked the eggplant roasted on top of the open flame as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
After eating something similar to this in a Mediterranean Restaurant I have been searching high and low for a recipe. This is it! This recipe is very tasty and easy to make. I left out the cilantro and the next time I make it I will omit or cut out the cayenne pepper. It was just a little too hot for me but a great eggplant side dish! Good and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texastwinkie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Have to use up those eggplants! So I tried this. We loved it. We enjoyed it warm and found that we loved the leftovers cold. I liked the heat that the cayenne pepper added. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I give this a five because it was simple. I added some fresh ginger because it was a bit bland. I'm glad I did because it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stony Brook, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I made this just the way it was in the recipe and it was a sucess my partner loved it !! my kids didn't like it though it is pretty spicy although by the time I was done with broiling it it didn not need to be microwaved it was already tender but that only made it quicker to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lombard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I combined the seering and baking steps by placing the entire eggplant on the barbeque and letting it bake over the flame for 5 minutes. It turned out excellant, my family says it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I DID NOT LIKE EGGPLANT! Now I like it! We will cook this recipe at least twice a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Took Archana's advice (from 1.16.08) and ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS!!! Served it to two friends who are not the biggest fans of Indian Food and they loved it and asked for more!!! Served this with a baked chicken breast covered with saag paneer and steamed quinoa. DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefJorge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I had never heard of this dish, but loving spicy food and eggplant I tried it. OMG! It is an awesome dish. I took the advice from others and added cumin, chile powder and garam marsala. Amazing. . . Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States