Bangan ka Bhurta (Indian Eggplant) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
After eating something similar to this in a Mediterranean Restaurant I have been searching high and low for a recipe. This is it! This recipe is very tasty and easy to make. I left out the cilantro and the next time I make it I will omit or cut out the cayenne pepper. It was just a little too hot for me but a great eggplant side dish! Good and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texastwinkie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Have to use up those eggplants! So I tried this. We loved it. We enjoyed it warm and found that we loved the leftovers cold. I liked the heat that the cayenne pepper added. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I give this a five because it was simple. I added some fresh ginger because it was a bit bland. I'm glad I did because it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stony Brook, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I made this just the way it was in the recipe and it was a sucess my partner loved it !! my kids didn't like it though it is pretty spicy although by the time I was done with broiling it it didn not need to be microwaved it was already tender but that only made it quicker to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adreana A Barnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lombard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I combined the seering and baking steps by placing the entire eggplant on the barbeque and letting it bake over the flame for 5 minutes. It turned out excellant, my family says it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
i did as the others suggested and more. I dont know what I was expected but this wasnt it. I did not enjoy this 1 bit. Even if I had leftover eggplant I would not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
My Bangan ka Bhurta did not look like the image posted, and did not taste like Indian Bangan ka Bhurta I've ever had in Indian restaurants. I've had it often since it is one of my favorite Indian dishes. I doubled up on the spices and it still didn't change much... Not sure what I could have done to fix it. I must add though, that it was delicious, served cold the next day with left over naan! Didn't taste like it should, but was still flavorfull! I won't make this again, I will try to find another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
needs more spices. there is another eggplant recipe on here which is much better. the texture was good though, but too more work using the microwave and oven, instead of just broiling the eggplant whole in tthe oven for 30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This could be user error, but mine did not turn out well. It was extremely mushy and somewhat bland. I still enjoyed it, maybe it just needed some more spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Try this small change and you will definitely have authentic baingan ka bharta. After peeling off the eggplant skin, mash the pulp coarely. Use the mashed eggplant for the last steps when you return this to the pan with onions etc. Cook this well, add 2 tsp of cumin powder, 1 tsp red chilli powder and 1 tsp garam masala (you will get this at any indian store. Happy cooking !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States