Bangan ka Bhurta (Indian Eggplant) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I followed Roxanne's suggestion and roasted the eggplant over a gas burner. I also added garlic because it justed seemed to need it. I did use cayenne, but added more (about 1 tsp)a bit at a time, tasting as I added. Because I had unexpected guests I needed to stretch the meal so I added a few potatoes that I had partially cooked in the microwave. I served this with Roomli Roti from this site and we all enjoyed it. Thanks, Cartha and thanks to the person who nominated this for our healthy meal group.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I roasted the eggplant on an open flame gas stove burner - like the footnote says. I've had this many times before because it is somewhat of a traditional or everyday type of dish here in Trinidad. If you do have a gas stove roast the eggplant on it. The open flame imparts a smoky flavour which gives this dish it's signature flavour. I also roasted garlic to add in, omitted the cayenne and used fresh chopped up scotch bonnet pepper for the heat in this dish. If you can't handle much heat, don't omit the pepper at all - it really adds to this dish. I served with Buss-up-Shut (Paratha Roti) which is a different type of naan. Good base recipe for anyone wanting to try some Indian food. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I DID NOT LIKE EGGPLANT! Now I like it! We will cook this recipe at least twice a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
It seemed like a bit of work so we just simmered the ingredients together on the stove til cooked. We increased the cayenne to our taste and added garam masala per another review. I don't know what the real recipe was supposed to taste like never having had it before, but ours was pretty tasty. My husband devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Try this small change and you will definitely have authentic baingan ka bharta. After peeling off the eggplant skin, mash the pulp coarely. Use the mashed eggplant for the last steps when you return this to the pan with onions etc. Cook this well, add 2 tsp of cumin powder, 1 tsp red chilli powder and 1 tsp garam masala (you will get this at any indian store. Happy cooking !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This could be user error, but mine did not turn out well. It was extremely mushy and somewhat bland. I still enjoyed it, maybe it just needed some more spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
needs more spices. there is another eggplant recipe on here which is much better. the texture was good though, but too more work using the microwave and oven, instead of just broiling the eggplant whole in tthe oven for 30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
My Bangan ka Bhurta did not look like the image posted, and did not taste like Indian Bangan ka Bhurta I've ever had in Indian restaurants. I've had it often since it is one of my favorite Indian dishes. I doubled up on the spices and it still didn't change much... Not sure what I could have done to fix it. I must add though, that it was delicious, served cold the next day with left over naan! Didn't taste like it should, but was still flavorfull! I won't make this again, I will try to find another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
i did as the others suggested and more. I dont know what I was expected but this wasnt it. I did not enjoy this 1 bit. Even if I had leftover eggplant I would not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I combined the seering and baking steps by placing the entire eggplant on the barbeque and letting it bake over the flame for 5 minutes. It turned out excellant, my family says it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States