Bangaladumpa (Potato) Upma Koora Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by The Green Goddess
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I followed this recipe to the letter and I found it excellent! The potatoes are bursting with flavor. This is like a spicy potato salad without the mayonnaise. I had no problems finding the ingredients at the local Indian food grocer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Green Goddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
We loved this recipe, although felt like we were missing a step? Are you supposed to boil the chana dal and urad dal before frying...? They turned out still raw, like I kind of expected. The flavor was awesome!! Could recommend what to eat it with? We had it with rice, but that didn't seem a good pairing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
We loved these potatoes and I guess this dish will be a staple in my family. I didn't use chana dal and used only 2 green chilies. Delicious and easy to make, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Packed with many great flavors, they come together to make a terrific dish. I followed the recipe precisely, except that I used 2 Tbl. urad dal only - with its black skin on - instead of the 2 dals. I served this with palaak panir, shahi panir, basmati rice, a dal dish, raita (cucumber & yogurt) for a vegetarian feast. (In case you don't know about it, here's an important ingredient note: do not use curry powder instead of curry leaves! The powder is a mix of several different spices. The curry leaves are from a tree & are green. They have a unique aroma & flavor - unsubstitutable, so beg your Indian grocer to order it for you.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I cannot get enough of this dish!!! This is the second time I've made it in the past two weeks, and I've yet to tire of it. The flavors come together perfectly. For those who were unsure of the cooking, yes you should boil the dahl first. I put quite a bit more dahl than the recipe called for, so I doubled the spices to compensate. I've also made it with mung beans instead and it still works beautifully. I make a big batch and eat it with paratha, roll it up like a burrito in some naan or tortillas, or I use it as the filling for my samosas. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holisticdestiny

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
best recipe for potatoes. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
The most traditional South Indian potato curry I would love the most. It comes with a package of flavors and the main ingredient that made me love this curry is the lemon juice which is added at the end that takes the recipe to another level. I won't use the ground pepper because its too spicy for me with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kumar Uppaluri

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
It was so delicious!! I attempted to use the beans uncooked, but halfway thorough the recipe, I realized that there is no way these would cook through. I didn't have green chile peppers, so I used jalapenos. I used WAY too many, so I added some soy milk to calm it down a little bit. It helped some and made the dish creamier. Still very good. I'll definitely make it again. I do not see myself cooking a bunch of beans just to use 1 tbs. & 1 tsp. in a recipe. It was fine without them. I could see adding a cup of beans, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States