Bandito Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
These beans turned out great for a party and a lot of people asked me for the recipe. I used only half of the brown sugar and it was plenty sweet. I also used spicy chili beans, and substituted half of the sausage with hot sausage. I didn't have any fennel, so had to leave that out. They turned out great. (The picture of the recipe above does not do this dish justice!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Pretty good. I used fresh green and wax beans, and frozen black-eyed peas instead of black beans. Followed the recipe the rest of the way- cooked on the stove in my dutch oven instead of a crockpot. Flavorful, sweet and savory, but the fennel was a bit much, next time I'll leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
So easy to make! I took these to a BBQ and was passing out the recipe by the end of the evening. Everyone LOVED them. I did take other suggestions and omitted the green beans. I also used a spicy/tangy BBQ sauce and not a sweet sauce just so they wouldn't be too sweet. Perfect. This is going to be a family keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
OMG these beans are out of this world. My baked beans have always been good, but these beans rock. They are my husband’s favorite; he had them for dinner and then lunch the next day and said he wouldn’t mind having them for dinner that night. I dropped the lima and green beans and substituted other beans I prefer. I had never used fennel so I asked my neighbor for a teaspoon of it and liked the flavor will definitely be adding it to my spice rack. Great recipe and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Oh my goodness. This recipe is FABULOUS!!!! I took it to a church function and everyone raved about it, including my husband. The only thing that I did differently was I cooked it for 12 hours on low and added about a 1/2 cup of water to thin out the sauce a little at the end of the 12 hours. I cooked it this long only because our church dinner was right after morning church so there wasn't enough time to cook it in the morning. I will definitely use it again, no changes at all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
These are awesome! I bbq almost every weekend during the summer and these are a staple on our menu now. I will never serve baked beans out of the can again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
These are fantastic! I have made them several times to take to parties. i prepared them just as the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
The only thing I didn't put in here was the cut green beans, mostly because I forgot to get them from the store. The more I thought about it though I wouldn't have added them, 5 hours in the slow cooker is way too much for green beans, yuck! I only added 1/3 cup of brown sugar (I didn't want them too sweet) and these turned out great. I thought there wouldn't be enough liquid, but after 5 hours it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This recipe is great! Even finicky Hubby loved it. I even left out the brown sugar and it was still yummy. The next day I took the leftovers and added a cup of v8 juice, a cup of water and a can of stewed tomatoes and turned it into a nice bean soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
This was tasty. I made it with venison and omitted all but a tiny amount of the green pepper. It was easy and quick and I'll make it again. Nancy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States