Bandito Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
These beans turned out great for a party and a lot of people asked me for the recipe. I used only half of the brown sugar and it was plenty sweet. I also used spicy chili beans, and substituted half of the sausage with hot sausage. I didn't have any fennel, so had to leave that out. They turned out great. (The picture of the recipe above does not do this dish justice!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Pretty good. I used fresh green and wax beans, and frozen black-eyed peas instead of black beans. Followed the recipe the rest of the way- cooked on the stove in my dutch oven instead of a crockpot. Flavorful, sweet and savory, but the fennel was a bit much, next time I'll leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
So easy to make! I took these to a BBQ and was passing out the recipe by the end of the evening. Everyone LOVED them. I did take other suggestions and omitted the green beans. I also used a spicy/tangy BBQ sauce and not a sweet sauce just so they wouldn't be too sweet. Perfect. This is going to be a family keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
OMG these beans are out of this world. My baked beans have always been good, but these beans rock. They are my husband’s favorite; he had them for dinner and then lunch the next day and said he wouldn’t mind having them for dinner that night. I dropped the lima and green beans and substituted other beans I prefer. I had never used fennel so I asked my neighbor for a teaspoon of it and liked the flavor will definitely be adding it to my spice rack. Great recipe and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Oh my goodness. This recipe is FABULOUS!!!! I took it to a church function and everyone raved about it, including my husband. The only thing that I did differently was I cooked it for 12 hours on low and added about a 1/2 cup of water to thin out the sauce a little at the end of the 12 hours. I cooked it this long only because our church dinner was right after morning church so there wasn't enough time to cook it in the morning. I will definitely use it again, no changes at all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
These are awesome! I bbq almost every weekend during the summer and these are a staple on our menu now. I will never serve baked beans out of the can again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
These are fantastic! I have made them several times to take to parties. i prepared them just as the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
The only thing I didn't put in here was the cut green beans, mostly because I forgot to get them from the store. The more I thought about it though I wouldn't have added them, 5 hours in the slow cooker is way too much for green beans, yuck! I only added 1/3 cup of brown sugar (I didn't want them too sweet) and these turned out great. I thought there wouldn't be enough liquid, but after 5 hours it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This recipe is great! Even finicky Hubby loved it. I even left out the brown sugar and it was still yummy. The next day I took the leftovers and added a cup of v8 juice, a cup of water and a can of stewed tomatoes and turned it into a nice bean soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
This was tasty. I made it with venison and omitted all but a tiny amount of the green pepper. It was easy and quick and I'll make it again. Nancy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States