Bandito Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Found this while looking for something to do with beans. The first time I made it I followed the recipe to the letter and from the first bite I knew I found a regular side dish for me (and in fact, have used it as a main dish as well). I absolutely love it. Since the first batch I have added 2 ingredients, but this is a personal preference and not necessary. Minced garlic - simply because I love garlic. Some heat - in the form of one of Emril's seasoning mixes. Not too much - just enough to add a very slight bite. Again, just because I love a bit of spice. If you are not a spice lover this could possibly ruin it for you so keep that in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Really good for the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I fixed these as a side dish to a brisket for my husband's birthday. They were so good the brisket paled in comparison. My husband asked me to add them to our regular menu as the main dish from now on. Perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I got this recipe via the "Dinner Spinner" iPhone app and it was a true winner! I made it as written, only changing the brown sugar content to only 1/4 cup of Splenda Brown Sugar Blend (had to make them friendly for diabetic loved ones). Fantastic! I was wary of the wax beans and green beans in them, but no - don't leave these out, they really are great! I'll be making these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This was a great recipe. I actually made it for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. I substituted Pinto Beans for the Lima beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DixieDoesPSP

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
My family loved this dish, and I have plenty of left overs! The only changes I made was reducing the amount of brown sugar to 1/2 cup; however, it was still too much sugar for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
From the crock pot to your bowl - this one's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judd Jugmonger
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I bought the ingredients and left the recipe for my husband to make. They came out delicious. I'm going to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Only change I made was I used Italian sausage instead of regular pork sausage, Absolutely the best beans I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Greatest beans ever. Have made them many times and everyone loves them. I add andouille at times and that's good instead of the italian sausage. I also use Sweet Baby Rays Chipotle BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States