Bandito Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I'm a vegetarian so I left out the sausage that this called for. Following some other reviewers' advice I also cut the brown sugar in half but threw in a jalapeno along with the peppers. I still found this to be too sweet so will probably leave out the brown sugar next time and add some more spices for some zing. Great easy recipe though! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Excellent! I didn't add the brown sugar, and used a 22 oz can of baked beans since I wanted it to be a little more on the savory vs. sweet side. I'll def make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Excellent recipe...the only thing I changed was to replace the green beans and wax beans with light and dark kidneys beans and lima beans with a 2nd can of black beans. I made this over the labor day weekend for my families BBQ and it was so hearty and delicious and everyone loved it including all of the kids. I am using the leftovers for chili tonight. This will be the only baked beans I make from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by H3ATH3R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I felt these were just "OK" but not a recipe I'd care to repeat. Too many ingredients, for one thing, that didn't really make sense to me. Were the edible? Yes they were but my own baked beans recipe is more to my taste. Also..........the recipe makes a TON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
WOW! Made it for the holiday and everybody LOVED IT! I made it exactly as is, except regular pork sausage, and no fennel seed or lima beans (my guests hate them!). It smelled so good that people started digging in before it was even done... and it was still amazing. We were a little worried about it with all the random beans, but it was amazing. Thanks for the recipe so I could get all the compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This was way more interesting than the usual baked beans. Sort of an italian chili/baked bean combination of tastes. I used Italian Sausage, too and didn't bother with the fennel. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
A good starting point for delicious beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I took this to a potluck and it was one of the first dishes to be finished off. I did make a couple of personal preference changes....I used turkey Italian sausage, cut the brown sugar in half and used both green and yellow peppers. I also did not use the fennel seed but next time I make it I probably will. The only reason I left them out was the thought that some would not care for the licorice taste of fennel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Slight alteration. I found sausage with fennel in it. So due to the reviews, I just used that and omitted the 1 tsp seed. This is really special, easy and delicious...thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyReed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
This was NOT a hit at our house. Definitely wish I would have left out the fennel seed. Make sure to leave it out if you do not like black licorice. I think a dish with a lot of these same ingredients could be really good, but not this exact recipe. I ate it, but it definitely was not "love at first bite" which is what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States