Bananas in Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
I made this one night for my family. Everyone thought it was very yummy. If your sugar doesn't borwn straight away, be patient, it will eventually. Serve with icecream as the recipe by itslef is much too sweet. Also do not let the caramel suace without the cream sit for to long as it turns into hard toffee, although adding the cream can reverse the process. All in all a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
oh my! I just made the caramel sauce to go with a different dessert and this is absolutely scrumptious! If one is fairly experienced at homemade fudge and candy making, this should not be a problem. I didn't have heavy cream so substituted 1 cup evaporated milk and it still came out wonderful. Smooth as silk and oh so creamy! The key here is patience. Make sure your butter/sugar mixture is dark brown in color. Once you add the liquid, that is the color it will be. Use medium high heat and stir continuously so sugar can dissolve and continue stirring until butter starts to brown. The butter will separate from the sugar; don't worry...you are almost there. Lower heat and continue stirring until it is dark caramel in color. Add liquid slowly. The sugar will set up again but don't worry. Just stir, stir, stir and it will all reincorporate. Bring to a rolling boil. Once I did this, I realized that the consistency was too thin so I just continued cooking at medium heat until it reached a nice consistency. I know I will have to give what I don't use away, as I don't trust myself. Wonderful sauce! Just be patient and don't be afraid to try it with evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
Very good and easy recipe! Love it with ice cream! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
I am just dizzy with happiness! This is just delicious! I didn't use super fine sugar and it worked great! It will seperate from the butter and won't come together until you start to slowly add the cream. (Stir it constantly!) It took me about 10 minutes until the sugar became smooth and brown. I don't think it's that long of a time! Soooooo wonderful on vanilla ice cream! Not grainy at all. And it's sweet but hello...we're talking caramel sauce here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I used this recipe combined with walnuts to fill crepes and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
loving2bmom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This was great! I only used the recipe for the caramel sauce (using regular white sugar and half & half) because my daughter wanted a caramel sundae. Personally, I thought that was a waste--this should be eaten straight from a spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
A simple and delicious dessert. Add a tablespoon or two of brandy and flame it and serve with a scoop of vanilla ice cream for an elegant touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
MMMMMM MMMMMM. Started out to use this recipe just for the Caramel sauce, then thought I would chuck in a couple of bananas anyway. Everyone gobbled up their desert. Sauce on its own would keep (if your lucky) in the fridge, but not after you have warmed fruit in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mooroolbark, Victoria, Australia
Living In: The Basin, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Delicious and very impressive for guests. Everyone loved it.. I just need to make MORE next time! I have since started making the caramel sauce for different applications too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampere, Pirkanmaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Bananas Foster II

An easy, elegant dessert with sautéed bananas, ice cream, and rum sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States