Bananas in Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
oh my! I just made the caramel sauce to go with a different dessert and this is absolutely scrumptious! If one is fairly experienced at homemade fudge and candy making, this should not be a problem. I didn't have heavy cream so substituted 1 cup evaporated milk and it still came out wonderful. Smooth as silk and oh so creamy! The key here is patience. Make sure your butter/sugar mixture is dark brown in color. Once you add the liquid, that is the color it will be. Use medium high heat and stir continuously so sugar can dissolve and continue stirring until butter starts to brown. The butter will separate from the sugar; don't worry...you are almost there. Lower heat and continue stirring until it is dark caramel in color. Add liquid slowly. The sugar will set up again but don't worry. Just stir, stir, stir and it will all reincorporate. Bring to a rolling boil. Once I did this, I realized that the consistency was too thin so I just continued cooking at medium heat until it reached a nice consistency. I know I will have to give what I don't use away, as I don't trust myself. Wonderful sauce! Just be patient and don't be afraid to try it with evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
To save some time and eliminate some of the stirring, try using brown sugar and sour cream. Just add about 1/3 cup each (for 2 bananas) and stir into the melted butter until bubbly. Absolutely delicious garnished with cashews and drizzled with chocolate sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
I am just dizzy with happiness! This is just delicious! I didn't use super fine sugar and it worked great! It will seperate from the butter and won't come together until you start to slowly add the cream. (Stir it constantly!) It took me about 10 minutes until the sugar became smooth and brown. I don't think it's that long of a time! Soooooo wonderful on vanilla ice cream! Not grainy at all. And it's sweet but hello...we're talking caramel sauce here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I loved this...delish! I halved the recipe to begin with, it makes a ton of sauce. The trick is to keep on stirring, no matter what. It will come together. In the past I have made caramel sauce with sugar water and cream. This version is much richer tasting. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
OMG. I just made this (at 10:49pm) for myself (no one else is home tonight) so I scaled down the recipe to 1 banana. H_E_A_V_E_N. I had all the stuff at home except super fine sugar so I pulsed regular sugar in the food processor till fine. Thank you so much, Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Great recipe with so little effort. I used the review suggestion using brown sugar and sour cream. The recipe took about 10 minutes to prepare and that included heating the bananas in the mixture. This will certainly impress your guests and my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DonnaBell

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
These were great. I used brown sugar instead of fine sugar, you don't really need fine sugar, plus the brown sugar gave a caramel color to it without needing to cook very long. Use low heat with the sugar. Make sure your bananas are ripe but not too ripe. Also the sauce is plenty, and you can add two or more bananas if you like. And I did let it boil a little bit longer. And the sauce is thick enough, and it can be used as a single dessert by itself! Super delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This was great! I only used the recipe for the caramel sauce (using regular white sugar and half & half) because my daughter wanted a caramel sundae. Personally, I thought that was a waste--this should be eaten straight from a spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2002
I wasn't too pleased with this recipe. The sugar takes a long time to cook depending on the pan. This is NOT a good recipe for small or unsupervised children because in order to caramelize sugar, you have to heat it to over 230 degrees, which is "third degree burn" hot. Plus once the butter sugar mixture begins browning, you still have to add the cream and let that simmer for quite a while to break up the caramel that solidifys when you add the cream. Taste wise, it's very good but its a little grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
If I could give more than 5 stars i would! I only used the caramel sauce tho. I filled chocolate cupcakes with it and wow, it was a HIT!! DEVINE!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewelz35

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Chef John's Bananas Foster

See how to make this surprisingly easy, show-stopping dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States