Bananas in Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
I made this one night for my family. Everyone thought it was very yummy. If your sugar doesn't borwn straight away, be patient, it will eventually. Serve with icecream as the recipe by itslef is much too sweet. Also do not let the caramel suace without the cream sit for to long as it turns into hard toffee, although adding the cream can reverse the process. All in all a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
Very good and easy recipe! Love it with ice cream! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
A simple and delicious dessert. Add a tablespoon or two of brandy and flame it and serve with a scoop of vanilla ice cream for an elegant touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
Way too sweet.Sorry we did not enjoy it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
This was easy but my sugar never browned. I don't think I wil make this again. I served it with the crepes that i found on this sight for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2002
I wasn't too pleased with this recipe. The sugar takes a long time to cook depending on the pan. This is NOT a good recipe for small or unsupervised children because in order to caramelize sugar, you have to heat it to over 230 degrees, which is "third degree burn" hot. Plus once the butter sugar mixture begins browning, you still have to add the cream and let that simmer for quite a while to break up the caramel that solidifys when you add the cream. Taste wise, it's very good but its a little grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2002
I was so excited when I found this recipe. The chef at me job use to make a version of this for breakfast to go with the pancakes, french toast and waffles. My husband and kids love it over french toach and ice cream. It's a hit with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2001
Pretty good. I had to cook the sauce a little longer than the recipe said to get it to carmelize. We had it over vanilla ice cream. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-68 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Bananas Foster II

An easy, elegant dessert with sautéed bananas, ice cream, and rum sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States