Bananas in Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Made soooooo much caramel sauce -- you could totally cut the recipe at least in half. Other than that I thought it was okay - I wouldn't want to eat just the bananas in the sauce, but over top of some icecream with a little chocolate sauce was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FROGHOPPER
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I didn't have superfine sugar so I used brown sugar instead. The best carmel sauce ever!!!! My family and I didn't like the hot, mushy bananas so the next time I make this I will just pour it over the bananas instead of heating them thru. All in all, very satisfied with this recipe! A must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
To make this recipe sing, I added a pinch of salt and a teaspoon of vanilla after adding the cream. The vanilla will cause it to boil up a bit, so be careful while adding it! We served this over vanilla bean ice cream with toasted pecans on top. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAZMOM4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I'm not too sure if I like warm bananas or not. Either way, use firm bananas, because they will soften in the caramel sauce. It's a good basic caramel sauce recipe to have on hand. I did add a touch of vanilla, too--it seemed to be screaming for it. Also, there's enough caramel sauce to support many more bananas than called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
OMG. I just made this (at 10:49pm) for myself (no one else is home tonight) so I scaled down the recipe to 1 banana. H_E_A_V_E_N. I had all the stuff at home except super fine sugar so I pulsed regular sugar in the food processor till fine. Thank you so much, Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
To save some time and eliminate some of the stirring, try using brown sugar and sour cream. Just add about 1/3 cup each (for 2 bananas) and stir into the melted butter until bubbly. Absolutely delicious garnished with cashews and drizzled with chocolate sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
The caramel sauce is delicious!! I can't wait to make my own version of the iced caramel macchiato with this sauce. This will save me lots of money! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VETTY430

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Station, Indiana, USA
Living In: Miami Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Whoa!! The favor is amazing and if you take the time that it needs in constant stiring, it is not grainy at all. Not a very thick sauce as I was expecting, but I am sure it will work all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennyj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I only made the caramel sauce...but it was FANTASTIC! I served it over bread pudding and we couldn't stop eating it. As the other reviews have noted, be patient. It will do exactly as the reviews say...you just have to stir and wait....and stir and wait...and..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dodge City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I loved this...delish! I halved the recipe to begin with, it makes a ton of sauce. The trick is to keep on stirring, no matter what. It will come together. In the past I have made caramel sauce with sugar water and cream. This version is much richer tasting. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Chef John's Bananas Foster

See how to make this surprisingly easy, show-stopping dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States