Bananas in Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I had my folks over for dinner.. dessert was flan with this caramel sauce. My Dad is 83 years old... He asked, "How did you make this caramel?" "This is the closest to the homemade caramel my mom used to make when we were kids." I thought this caramel recipe was the best I've ever found but just seeing how much my Dad loved it... Made it "The Best Caramel Sauce!" for me. Try it... you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Quick and Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I didn't have enough bananas, so I threw in 1 large one. I wanted the sauce to be thicker, so I added some cornstarch. This is AWESOME, I will be using this in my ice cream.. never mind the store bought jars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Very good! I couldn't find superfine sugar and used granulated. Then I goofed up and put the sugar in with the butter BEFORE it was melted. It all worked out OK. It just took a LONG time. EXCELLENT sauce. We jarred what was left and have used it on ice cream and apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Soooo good! Wonderful on sour green apples! I definitely cooked it longer then what was suggested to get warm gooey caramel. Also threw in a couple pinches of salt as well as a tsp of vanilla after I added the cream. PERFECTO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shinsplint5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
very easy and tasty! Thanks a lot! I love this caramel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caramellover

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Guys!!!!! Add some pine nuts with the bananas. And just taste for yourself...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Made soooooo much caramel sauce -- you could totally cut the recipe at least in half. Other than that I thought it was okay - I wouldn't want to eat just the bananas in the sauce, but over top of some icecream with a little chocolate sauce was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FROGHOPPER
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I didn't have superfine sugar so I used brown sugar instead. The best carmel sauce ever!!!! My family and I didn't like the hot, mushy bananas so the next time I make this I will just pour it over the bananas instead of heating them thru. All in all, very satisfied with this recipe! A must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
To make this recipe sing, I added a pinch of salt and a teaspoon of vanilla after adding the cream. The vanilla will cause it to boil up a bit, so be careful while adding it! We served this over vanilla bean ice cream with toasted pecans on top. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Bananas Foster II

An easy, elegant dessert with sautéed bananas, ice cream, and rum sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States