Bananas in Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
These were great. I used brown sugar instead of fine sugar, you don't really need fine sugar, plus the brown sugar gave a caramel color to it without needing to cook very long. Use low heat with the sugar. Make sure your bananas are ripe but not too ripe. Also the sauce is plenty, and you can add two or more bananas if you like. And I did let it boil a little bit longer. And the sauce is thick enough, and it can be used as a single dessert by itself! Super delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
this was the first time i had ever attempted to make a caramel sauce and let me tell you YUM!!!! i made it to go with a pie and it was stellar. i used heavy cream instead of milk. other than that I followed the recipe to the letter. it makes a LOT! be prepared to have something to save the unused portion. this close to christmas and parties it will definitely not go to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
So it takes a little longer to cook.For a first timer it's AWESOME. Follow her directions and do variations to your liking. I let it sit to get a little thicker before serving. I like it just the way it is!! It will be included in my bread pudding as a sauce (drizzled on top). Thank you Sarah. (P.S.) Who would let a child cook a candy type sauce? geeezzz
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Bananas and caramel is a very good mix, however for the caramel I prefer melting the sugar alone first and then adding the butter and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I only used the caramel sauce but it was DELICIOUS! My boyfriend and his parents LOVED LOVED LOVED IT! I used the caramel sauce for baked apples. Came out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
WOWWW! I am not a fan of bananas, but I made the caramel sauce to use as a topping for apple turnovers. When the sauce was done, I took one lick of the spoon and almost SWOONED, it was so good! It makes a great topping for ice cream, too -- but honestly, I could just eat it straight out of a bowl! I used margarine, regular sugar, and evaporated milk, and it worked fine. I did let it boil a few minutes extra to get it to the thickness I wanted for the turnovers. (It does thicken as it cools, though, so if you aren't going to serve it right away, you will want to remove it from the heat when it is still slightly thin.) This is delicious, easy, and cheaper than store-bought caramel sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
It's nice but so everyone knows, it's also very runny. It's something you drizzle. I, like many people, made this for something other than bananas. In my case, I made it to put on top of a cheesecake. However, I needed something a bit thicker for my purpose. But for what it is, it tastes great. This recipe does make an awful lot though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
hmmm....Not sure what to say here. Frist, I am not sure this is a dessert in and of itself. Second, mine came out odd smelling and the bananas were darkened quickly. I know what people may be thinking, but I used fresh ingredients so that's not the reason :) . The only reason I still gave it 4* is that my son loved it the first day. The 2nd day? hmm...had the throw it away. Might be good first day on top of pancakes maybe? I have a much better recipe for that though. It's from "banana's foster french toast" recipe from foodnetwork. Paula Deens recipe. THAT one, is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Wish the bananas got a little more crunch to them. I'll make it again, but probably do the bananas in less sauce at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Turned out really yummy, although I'd make it as a sauce for like ice cream or cheesecake rather than a main dessert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by townsend1025

Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Chef John's Bananas Foster

See how to make this surprisingly easy, show-stopping dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States