Bananas in Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Great recipe with so little effort. I used the review suggestion using brown sugar and sour cream. The recipe took about 10 minutes to prepare and that included heating the bananas in the mixture. This will certainly impress your guests and my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DonnaBell

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Very tasty but the sauce was way to thin. It was the consistency of tomato soup. I would try adding 3/4 - 1 cup and thin as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I used this as a filling for banana shortcake. Absolutely delish. Nice and simple, I've made it a few times with sweetened shredded coconut added. Wow! Think a hybrid of banana cream pie! Super alternative to traditional strawberry shortcake; but I plan to try it with strawberries next time. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Reading all the reviews, I decided to cook the caramel longer. But I think I cook it too long since there's a slight burn taste. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I didn't let the color of the caramel get dark enough. (I was afraid of burning) I added 2 extra bananas and I think I could have thrown 2 more in there. There was a lot of sauce. Not that I am complaining because it was AWESOME! I topped off my bananas with a drizzle of choc syrup and a dab of whipped cream. YUM!! I couldn't stop eatting it. I now feel like I just ate my weight in Caramel Bananas! lol Oh So Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
If I could give more than 5 stars i would! I only used the caramel sauce tho. I filled chocolate cupcakes with it and wow, it was a HIT!! DEVINE!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewelz35

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
SIMPLE and PERFECT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theoracleiam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview, Texas, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This is pretty good. I liked the caramel sauce, but not the addition of the bananas. I guess in general, I don't like the taste of healthy things with unhealthy things. If you're going to do it... go all the way! The sauce is very good though. My mother makes this sauce under french toast- that's a good combo! It definitely took a while to make. I stirred and stirred and stirred. But it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This caramel sauce is delicious. It's a rich sauce, and I found it to be enough for about 10 to 12 bananas, not 4. I plan on making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
These were great. I used brown sugar instead of fine sugar, you don't really need fine sugar, plus the brown sugar gave a caramel color to it without needing to cook very long. Use low heat with the sugar. Make sure your bananas are ripe but not too ripe. Also the sauce is plenty, and you can add two or more bananas if you like. And I did let it boil a little bit longer. And the sauce is thick enough, and it can be used as a single dessert by itself! Super delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Bananas Foster II

An easy, elegant dessert with sautéed bananas, ice cream, and rum sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States