Bananas 'N' Cream Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I had some bananas that needed to be used up and didn't want to make the typical banana bread or muffins around here, so I decided to try this. It's amazingly moist and sweet, and was hugely popular with my husband and his office. I made it as written, though I put a butterscotch glaze on top instead of just confectioner's suger. (I used the Satiny Chocolate Glaze off of this site, only using butterscotch chips instead of chocolate chips, and almond extract instead of the vanilla extract.) My husband said it was really good with the glaze, and he prefers it with glaze to without, but he did concede you can get away with just confectioner's sugar as well. A butterscotch glaze obviously makes it even sweeter. Either way, it's an extremely good bundt cake and I would most definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyoftheIvy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Delicious cake, topped mine with caramel pecan sauce, none was left at our pot luck!! A great breakfast cake or anytime treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This recipe was absolutely delicious and very easy to prepare. It was moist and full of flavor. My family ate half of it within two hours of taking it out of the oven. We all agreed that we prefer this cake recipe over our favorite banana bread recipe. You can’t go wrong with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
5 star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This cake is wonderful! It is so moist and absolutely scrumptious! I did not have walnuts so I used pecans.I also added vanilla glaze to this. This recipe is a keeper and I definitely will make this again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Made this twice for my teens. Once I used choc chips and once thawed blueberry for the walnuts (have child alergic to nuts). What a wounderful cake. They ate it in one day. I used marg instead of shortning/ yogurt for sourcream because thats what I had on hand. It's now my go to cake for teens and grown ups because it not to sweet. Thanks Oma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Loved it! I subbed margarine for shortening, but only because I had that on hand from a vegan recipe I was making. I omitted the nuts so more people at work could enjoy, but I think they would've been yummy in here! Certainly nothing extra needed to top this off...except maybe a dab of butter :) It baked beautifully in about 55-60 minutes, for me. Lovely recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Turned out very nice. I substituted milk for the sour cream because I didn't have any on hand. Worked fine. I baked for 50 minutes, but it wasn't done in the middle. So I turned off the oven and let the cake stand in the oven for another 10 minutes. It firmed up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I don't ever do reviews, but I have made all kinds of banana breads and cakes (it's my favorite dessert) and this is by FAR the best. It's incredible. I substituted coconut oil for the shortening. So moist, so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was amazing!!! Great way to use up older bananas. I didn't have margarine and used oil instead and added 1/2 cup of chocolate chips and skipped the walnuts for kids. Amazing!!! Made this in a bundt cake (awesome) but also made them as muffins for the hockey team and they were gobbled up. Cook at the same temp but for about 20 min. for standard sized muffins (makes 24-36 muffins depending on your pan size). Also, I didn't have sour cream so used no fat plain yogurt. If I could give this more than 5 stars I would!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States