Bananas Foster over Puff Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I did not have enough bananas, so I used the 4 that I had on hand. I think that 4 bananas was plenty. The brown sugar/sour cream topping made this really unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
this was so good! i made it for my family and they loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This was the first time I have had any type of bananas foster. Oh Wow, was this YUUMMYYY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Great! I misread the recipe and dumped everything, but the sour cream, in a pan. It all boiled together, but still tasted amazing. Would make just the banana sauce as an ice cream topper too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
A really, really big hit with the family, particularly with my wife(fussy about food) said it was the best she had ever tasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I made this just as the recipe says. It was a huge hit. When I make it again, I will use 1/3 cup sugar instead of 1/2 cup. My bananas were really ripe, so they were quite sweet. Definitely serve it right away. It gets soggy fast and is hard to serve. I cut up the scraps of puff pastry into small pieces (about 1 - 2 inches) and baked them with the larger circle. We put the bananas on top of those without the sour cream sauce and served that separately for our lactose intolerant friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
GREAT GREAT GREAT! The first time I made this I did it exactly as the recipe called for and it was wonderful however, the next time I did play with it a little bit. Since I love banana daiquiris I added a pinch of nutmeg and a little splash of vanilla, and it just took it to the next level. I would caution not to let the banana mixture sit too long on the pastry before serving as it could get a little soggy so assemble and serve right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ADZELL
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This was a hit tonight at dessert!!! I did assemble mine slightly different. First, 3 of my bananas were ripe & 3 were still slightly green, so I threw the green bananas in the oven at 350 for 20 minutes and then let them cool. Once cooled I threw them into the KitchenAid mixer & beat them until smooth; then combined them into my sour cream mixture. I opted to make 4 very fat individual circles from 1 puff pastry sheet & topped each with the sour cream/banana mixture. I then sliced up only one of the ripe bananas and topped all 4 pastries with the slices (there were plenty of slices for each). Finally, once I made the rum sauce I spooned it evenly into 4 seperate bowls, placed the pastries and then dusted the tops with more cinnamon (as I wanted that flavor punched up a bit). I let them sit in the microwave until dinner was finished (to keep them warm) & then they were devoured by everyone come dessert. My only thought was that sometimes the flavor of rum was a bit strong in a few bites, so if you do not enjoy rum flavor I would probably cut back on it a little bit. All in all, it was a success & everyone loved the presentation as well as the taste! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
This recipe was super easy! I did make a few adjustments, I didn't have any puff pastry so I used Pillsbury Recipe Creations Crescent dough and baked that, then added the banana mixture over that. I also did not have any cool whip, so I used some heavy whipping cream, sugar and imitation rum and whipped that to go over top....this is a quick yummy dessert in a fix! It is on my fave list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

How to Fix Cracked Pie

Cracks in the pie? It’s no crisis. We’ve got great ideas for simple fixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States