Bananas Foster Monkey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I have made this twice for Christmas and we just love it. I fet that it just was not enough of the sause mixture in the middle of the bread the first time. I made an extra mixture and drizzled it as I layered it with Biscuits,Bananas then sause. Perfect, not dry in the middle and then poured the rest over the top. Be sure to have a pan under as you bake it .It will spill over while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARISOLGROETSCH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Excellent! Per the last review, I reduced the white sugar to 1/4 c., the butter to 1/4c plus 1 T, and the brown sugar to 1/4c plus 1 T. Due to the sweetness of the bananas this is all you need. I also used one large can of reduced fat wheat grands biscuits and sliced almonds in place of the pecans. My husband, two-year son and I loved it, ate the whole pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I made this today...very good...I made one with chopped apples, and one with bananas. Both were excellent...you just need to place loaf pan on baking sheet to catch drips, cover the top with foil during the last 10 minutes of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Delicious! I couldn't figure out what type of biscuits came in 7.5 ounce cans, so I just got the 9.5 ounce "butter me nots" store brand. Worked out just fine. Used a pizza cutter to cut the biscuits as suggested by another review, definitely recommend doing that. As for the taste, well my husband and I (along with my 3-year old son) finished almost the entire thing right away!! Definitely decadent, one I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I made this last night on a wim, and it was excellent! So easy to prepare as well. I served it warm with ice cream and caramel drizzled on top. My boyfriend loved it!! I had to bake mine for about 50 minutes tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly for a large family breakfast and this turned out wonderful. The sweetness of the traditional monkey bread is cut by the bananas and less sugar. Use a bundt pan to cook it more evenly inside and out instead of a loaf pan. This also spreads the sauce more evenly and melts the sugar. The easy biscuit shortcut makes this a great brunch item or breakfast for a crowd on short notice. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I love this version of "Monkey Bread", I make it as followed, but turn it into a chunky monkey with chocolate chips!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
OMG! so good. so sweet, so easy! i halved the recipe and used walnuts cuz i didnt have peacans on hand. also, i used one can of cresent rolls, what i had on hand. tasted like heaven on earth... will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa margitan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Very good! always put some thing in your oven to catch the drips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Followed the instructions to the letter. This is a very yummy monkey bread. I wish I had read the reviews before I baked it because it does bubble up and over. Set off my smoke alarm. HA HA HA!!! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Bananas Foster II

An easy, elegant dessert with sautéed bananas, ice cream, and rum sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States