Bananas Foster I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2003
I just had this pricey dessert in New Orleans at the restaurant that invented it. It was fantastic! Ingredients are identical except for amounts. Try 1/4-1/2 cup butter, 1cup brown sugar, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/4 cup banana liqueur,4 bananas, 1/4 cup dark rum. Cook same as this. Serve over ice cream. It's hard to believe something this simple can taste so heavenly! Elegant dessert. Thanks Chrissi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
Excellent. But then it's impossible to go wrong with a banana's foster recipe -- it's just such a great dish. I doubled the recipe and flambeed it slightly differently: after the bananas softened, I poured the alcohol directly into the pan, waited a minute for it to warm up, then lit it on fire. The result was great poured over ice cream, though the remnants at the bottom of the dish were a little rummy. (Most of the syrup was fine.) I might've stirred too soon while it was on fire thereby putting it out too soon to let all the alcohol burn off? Or maybe I should've just taken other reviewers' advice and used a little less alcohol. Before cooking this recipe, I did a lot of research on the web. There are dozens of recipes out there, all varying wildly in the amount of the various ingredients. So this dish is apparently very forgiving about quantities. The alternative flambeing technique I used is actually more common than the two pan method called for in this recipe. Incidentally, the best page I found discussing this recipe is a very entertaining read: http://www.gumbopages.com/food/dessert/ban-foster.html
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
FABULOUS! So quick & easy! I doubled and used 3 bananas. No alcohol, used Vanilla instead of liqueur. Spooned over vanilla ice cream and drizzled chocolate syrup on top! The kids and my husband FREAKED OUT at how good this was! Thanks, I will be sure to make this one for family and friends. Even camping with angel food cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2001
It was fun lighting my dessert on fire! The taste was just OK, and I found the rum taste to be too strong for this dish. So next time I will use less rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
Mmmmmmmm...ok, why 5 stars? Perhaps the rum is having an effect on me. But this is simple and great. I forgot the lemon juice (I think I was very worried about setting the rum on fire, a technique which I had never done before) but it was still great. Maybe a bit over sweet, but then again I had to use Southern Comfort instead of Rum because we were fresh out of Rum. Despite all these "mistakes" it was delish, and smelled amazing. I ate it over vanilla ice cream, but it could make a DIVINE topping for French Toast or practically anything else banana goes with. Will make again because it is so simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
Excellent. I added more rum and cinnamon. Took the cooled mixture and made it into ice cream for a Cajun Christmas celebration held at my house. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
I much prefer this to Bananas Foster II. In my opinion, this is as close as you can get to what fine dining restaurants serve. The banana liqueur is a nice addition and the combination flames very easily. I would not reduce the rum ratio and if you are making this for a large dinner party, I recommend you error on the side of making too much. Depending on your serving size, it’s easy to come up short and awkward to start over to make up the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
Great recipe but the serving size is not realistic. I made 12 servings for 6 people
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
Very Good! I used Banana Rum and it made it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HONDATRAIN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
I like to serve this a la mode. I also soak some raisins in orange juice for a few hours and use that instead of the lemon juice. The raisins will get plump with the OJ and it makes for a very interesting texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Bananas Foster

See how to make this surprisingly easy, show-stopping dessert.

Bananas Foster II

An easy, elegant dessert with sautéed bananas, ice cream, and rum sauce.

Irish Bananas

Top ice cream with bananas simmered in butter, Irish whiskey, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States