Bananas Foster I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
so good...the fact that you light in on fire earns this one the fifth star; as someone else suggested, I poured the rum directly into the syrup pan, let it heat for half a minute then ignited it; it was fun
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
This was great! I didn't use the rum, but I did use the liquer, and that was very nice. I also used light butter. I served it warm over vanilla ice cream...yummy! Winner with the hubby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
I am a recent convert to Bananas Foster and tried this recipe. Great results. I used banana rum instead of banana liquer. I strongly recommend doing this dish outside because of the flaming rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
Excellent. But then it's impossible to go wrong with a banana's foster recipe -- it's just such a great dish. I doubled the recipe and flambeed it slightly differently: after the bananas softened, I poured the alcohol directly into the pan, waited a minute for it to warm up, then lit it on fire. The result was great poured over ice cream, though the remnants at the bottom of the dish were a little rummy. (Most of the syrup was fine.) I might've stirred too soon while it was on fire thereby putting it out too soon to let all the alcohol burn off? Or maybe I should've just taken other reviewers' advice and used a little less alcohol. Before cooking this recipe, I did a lot of research on the web. There are dozens of recipes out there, all varying wildly in the amount of the various ingredients. So this dish is apparently very forgiving about quantities. The alternative flambeing technique I used is actually more common than the two pan method called for in this recipe. Incidentally, the best page I found discussing this recipe is a very entertaining read: http://www.gumbopages.com/food/dessert/ban-foster.html
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
Amazing. I love the way the caramel hardened a little. Not sure if that is the way it is supposed to come out but yummy still. I left out the banana liqueur and the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Congers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
FABULOUS! So quick & easy! I doubled and used 3 bananas. No alcohol, used Vanilla instead of liqueur. Spooned over vanilla ice cream and drizzled chocolate syrup on top! The kids and my husband FREAKED OUT at how good this was! Thanks, I will be sure to make this one for family and friends. Even camping with angel food cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
Not enough banana in the recipe and too much liquid. I think I will add another banana next time. We used banana rum in place of the regular rum + banana liqueur. Very good over vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
very very good. made crepes to put the banana in and served with whipped cream. to make it alcohol free use orange juice instead. good for breakfast and a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
i had alot of fun making this recipe but i just didnt like the taste. i dont know where i went wrong but i didnt like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
I much prefer this to Bananas Foster II. In my opinion, this is as close as you can get to what fine dining restaurants serve. The banana liqueur is a nice addition and the combination flames very easily. I would not reduce the rum ratio and if you are making this for a large dinner party, I recommend you error on the side of making too much. Depending on your serving size, it’s easy to come up short and awkward to start over to make up the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bananas Foster II

An easy, elegant dessert with sautéed bananas, ice cream, and rum sauce.

Irish Bananas

Top ice cream with bananas simmered in butter, Irish whiskey, and brown sugar.

Sazerac Cocktail

This classic rye whiskey cocktail is the official drink of New Orleans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States