Bananas Foster I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
I much prefer this to Bananas Foster II. In my opinion, this is as close as you can get to what fine dining restaurants serve. The banana liqueur is a nice addition and the combination flames very easily. I would not reduce the rum ratio and if you are making this for a large dinner party, I recommend you error on the side of making too much. Depending on your serving size, it’s easy to come up short and awkward to start over to make up the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
great recipe! use unsalted butter for best flavor. don't try to economize by using margarine. haagen daz (or breyers) french vanilla ice cream seems to bring out the best in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
very good, and allot less calories than other bananas foster recipe's i have found... if you don't have the banana liqueur, you can replace it with another type of liqeuer or possibly more rum, and it should turn out fine. i had to use orange liqueur, in replacement for the banana liqueur and i also added a little bit of orange extract when i was letting it cool- it was an unexpectedly wonderful flavor combination **word of caution-- be VERY VERY careful lighting the alcohol- it has a VERY hot flame!!**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
SUPERB! I felt like a professional!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
I just had this pricey dessert in New Orleans at the restaurant that invented it. It was fantastic! Ingredients are identical except for amounts. Try 1/4-1/2 cup butter, 1cup brown sugar, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/4 cup banana liqueur,4 bananas, 1/4 cup dark rum. Cook same as this. Serve over ice cream. It's hard to believe something this simple can taste so heavenly! Elegant dessert. Thanks Chrissi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
Very Good! I used Banana Rum and it made it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HONDATRAIN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
This is a simple but completely yummy dessert! I cut back a little on the alcohol (the only banana liquor I could find was 99 proof--packs a punch) and I add mixed nuts as a topping. Thanks for a great find!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
Mmmmmmmm...ok, why 5 stars? Perhaps the rum is having an effect on me. But this is simple and great. I forgot the lemon juice (I think I was very worried about setting the rum on fire, a technique which I had never done before) but it was still great. Maybe a bit over sweet, but then again I had to use Southern Comfort instead of Rum because we were fresh out of Rum. Despite all these "mistakes" it was delish, and smelled amazing. I ate it over vanilla ice cream, but it could make a DIVINE topping for French Toast or practically anything else banana goes with. Will make again because it is so simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
In my constant search for tasty yet low fat recipes, I was able to modify this one slightly to take out some of the fat. I only used half a tablespoon of butter, and added two tablespoons of water to help the sugar melt. Then, I only used 2 Tbls of Rum, instead of the full amount and the banana liquor, since liquor is high in calories. Still tasted delicious and decadent. I've served it over crepes, low fat vanilla ice cream, and a combo of both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
I like to serve this a la mode. I also soak some raisins in orange juice for a few hours and use that instead of the lemon juice. The raisins will get plump with the OJ and it makes for a very interesting texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Bananas Foster

See how to make this surprisingly easy, show-stopping dessert.

Bananas Foster II

An easy, elegant dessert with sautéed bananas, ice cream, and rum sauce.

Irish Bananas

Top ice cream with bananas simmered in butter, Irish whiskey, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States