Bananas Foster I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Really simple but also delicious. I wasn't sure the sauce would come together - it had separated a bit, but when the bananas went it, it all cooked down beautifully. This was dessert after Chinese food so I added a pinch of Chinese Five Spice with the cinnamon and Cointreau instead of rum because we didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Effie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
My boyfriend loves bananas foster and this recipe turned out to be great! I doubled the recipe to have more sauce to drizzle over the ice cream. I scooped the ice cream and put it in the freezer first and then added some of the sauce while it was thickening up. Next time I am going to make a mini bundt and put this over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
You really can't go wrong with Bananas Foster. I made this for dessert last night and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Culinary Assassin

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sabattus, Maine, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
First time to FLAMBE`... That was fun!.... I liked this a quite a bit but I think I would have liked it even better on something like crepes!.. As I poured the hot liquid over the ice cream I started to worry my glass would crack, it didn't! The sauce was my favorite part and I used only one pan, but if I make this again I will use the two pan method; I think the difference is that my bananas left in the same pan carmelized a lot more than some in other pics.. So basically they looked brown! Wasn't a problem to me, but presentation wise not as appealing!.. I also added 1 extra banana! I may play around with this recipe and try other liqueurs too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Fantastic! Wow this was awesome I have not had anything this good outside the Renaissance Hotel I stay at in China while there. We had a craving for something sweet and different. This certainly fit the bill. Did I say FANTASTIC!!! Thank you so much for sharing. We will be having this regularly as long as I can keep rum in the house. I think next time I am going to try Amaretto instead of the banana liquer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Noble, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Good results. I concur with two things in previous reviews. First, this does give a pretty strong rum flavor. For me, this is a good thing as I like rum, however, it is something to be aware of when cooking for others. Secondly, I did the flambe in one pan, I didn't go to the trouble of a second. Since I was using a larger cast iron frying pan, I merely pushed the dessert to the side and added the rum mix on the other, then basted the bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This was really rich! I didn't have lemon juice on hand, so had to omit, but still very tasty! I would definately make this again...;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Very good. I didn't use the lemon juice, but I didn't need to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlett, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I also didn't use the alcohol and added vanilla. Turned out wonderfully with vanilla bean ice cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ultraviolette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Didn't turn out exactly how I thought it would, but it was still good to eat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Bananas Foster

See how to make this surprisingly easy, show-stopping dessert.

Bananas Foster II

An easy, elegant dessert with sautéed bananas, ice cream, and rum sauce.

Irish Bananas

Top ice cream with bananas simmered in butter, Irish whiskey, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States