Bananas Foster I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
My boyfriend loves bananas foster and this recipe turned out to be great! I doubled the recipe to have more sauce to drizzle over the ice cream. I scooped the ice cream and put it in the freezer first and then added some of the sauce while it was thickening up. Next time I am going to make a mini bundt and put this over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
You really can't go wrong with Bananas Foster. I made this for dessert last night and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Culinary Assassin

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sabattus, Maine, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
First time to FLAMBE`... That was fun!.... I liked this a quite a bit but I think I would have liked it even better on something like crepes!.. As I poured the hot liquid over the ice cream I started to worry my glass would crack, it didn't! The sauce was my favorite part and I used only one pan, but if I make this again I will use the two pan method; I think the difference is that my bananas left in the same pan carmelized a lot more than some in other pics.. So basically they looked brown! Wasn't a problem to me, but presentation wise not as appealing!.. I also added 1 extra banana! I may play around with this recipe and try other liqueurs too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Fantastic! Wow this was awesome I have not had anything this good outside the Renaissance Hotel I stay at in China while there. We had a craving for something sweet and different. This certainly fit the bill. Did I say FANTASTIC!!! Thank you so much for sharing. We will be having this regularly as long as I can keep rum in the house. I think next time I am going to try Amaretto instead of the banana liquer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Noble, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Good results. I concur with two things in previous reviews. First, this does give a pretty strong rum flavor. For me, this is a good thing as I like rum, however, it is something to be aware of when cooking for others. Secondly, I did the flambe in one pan, I didn't go to the trouble of a second. Since I was using a larger cast iron frying pan, I merely pushed the dessert to the side and added the rum mix on the other, then basted the bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This was really rich! I didn't have lemon juice on hand, so had to omit, but still very tasty! I would definately make this again...;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Very good. I didn't use the lemon juice, but I didn't need to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlett, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I also didn't use the alcohol and added vanilla. Turned out wonderfully with vanilla bean ice cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ultraviolette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Didn't turn out exactly how I thought it would, but it was still good to eat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This was the first recipe that we have ever made that required you to set something on fire. It was awesome! We had a lot of fun with this one, and it was delicious! But when we were making it, we realized that we had nothing to put this over. We had no pastry or vanilla icecream or anything. We ended up putting it over some turtle-track icecream and it was wonderful. Next time we will make it with some vanilla icecream and some vanilla waffers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bananas Foster II

An easy, elegant dessert with sautéed bananas, ice cream, and rum sauce.

Irish Bananas

Top ice cream with bananas simmered in butter, Irish whiskey, and brown sugar.

Sazerac Cocktail

This classic rye whiskey cocktail is the official drink of New Orleans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States