Bananas Foster I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Outstanding! But I skipped the lemon and I sliced the bananas rather than quarter and seved over vanilla ice cream. One batch I used vanilla flavored congac, and the alcohol free batch I used vanilla and skipped the flambee. Equally delicious. This desert can't fail and will impress everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Holmes, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I had Banana's Foster Pancakes on our Hawaiian Cruise and wanted to have it at home...it's to die for. This is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Wow, I doubled the recipe and yikes; thought I would burn down the house! For the most part the flavor was good but too much rum! Will use 1/2 the rum next time and be cautious when doubling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
We had this in Belize when we were on our honeymoon. They used lime juice and no banana liqour. Very yummy, quick and easy! My husband was licking the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Thought i had died and gone to heaven everyone loved it! Very sweet and rich you dont need a lot i used more banana and it did 4 servings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
What an easy and great tasting recipe! This was a quick and very popular desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: Marina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This was good... however, I was unable to light it on fire. I did as some suggested, which is to mix the liquor into the brown sugar syrup while it was bubbling, and it didn't flame :-(. I wondered if I waited to long to light it? Or maybe I should have poured it on top and without stirring it, light it up? I will try this again... but otherwise it did taste nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYLEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
AMAZING!!! I am not someone who enjoys banana-flavored foods, but this was fabulous! I agree with other reviews that this could be used with breakfast dishes as well as desserts. The only confusion was how long to let the rum/banana liqueur mixture burn. ??? Otherwise, it was simple, fabulous, and will definitely be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Really simple but also delicious. I wasn't sure the sauce would come together - it had separated a bit, but when the bananas went it, it all cooked down beautifully. This was dessert after Chinese food so I added a pinch of Chinese Five Spice with the cinnamon and Cointreau instead of rum because we didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Effie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Bananas Foster

See how to make this surprisingly easy, show-stopping dessert.

Bananas Foster II

An easy, elegant dessert with sautéed bananas, ice cream, and rum sauce.

Irish Bananas

Top ice cream with bananas simmered in butter, Irish whiskey, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States