Banana and Vanilla Cupcakes with Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I love this recipe it was fast,easy, and simply delicious! I was remeber that we were going to a party and we had to bring a dessert, I needed something simple, easy, and something everyone would love. This was perfect. Easy to clean and they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
i didnt make the cupcakes but i did use the recipe for the buttercream and it was really good it was perfect with cake decorating !!!!! love this!!!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Yum! I did what another reviewer did by adding one more banana and it was great! Just enough sweet, I didn't use the buttercream frosting but made a maple cream cheese frosting I found on this site. Really a great combination! I wanted to try a walnut flavor but couldn't find it so just put a walnut half on the top. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patkt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I Love The Frosting~ :) It was so yummy~ Me & my teacher loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanashima

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
These are easy and delicious! My bananas were older so I mashed them instead of cutting them up. I also baked a Nilla Wafer in the center of each cupcake but the flavor of the cake still shines through. Mine baked in 15 minutes and came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I followed the recipe as it was written and the cupcakes turned out very good. They lie somewhere between a cupcake and a muffin. I went ahead and used my own brown sugar frosting recipe. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sningram

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willows, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Great recipe! Banana recipes are always very dense, so that is to be expected. I used the electric mixer on high for several minutes and the batter actually made for very light & airy cupcakes. I only had 2 eggs on hand so I substituted a container of cinnamon applesauce for the third. I'll probably always do that now as it gave the cupcakes a tinge of spice flavor. I frosted half with the chocolate frosting & half with cream cheese frosting. Next time I'll be sure to try the buttercream recipe, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GiGi
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
These were very good cupcakes. They were nice and light- not heavy like banana bread. I added some mini chocolate chips to the batter and mixed some banana puree into the frosting then topped with a chocolate dipped banana chip. Everyone really enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
These are fabulous! Moist, with a great banana and vanilla flavor. I made two very minor tweaks: I used cake flour instead of AP flour, and I mashed up the bananas and blended them in before I added the dry ingredients. I probably got slightly more than 1 tsp vanilla, but that never hurt anybody. I topped them with peanut butter and chocolate chips. A huge hit with the family and coworkers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Ricks Family

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
These were great cupcakes! I am not a huge banana fan and I still loved them! Moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States