Banana and Vanilla Cupcakes with Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Given reviews that are all over the map – changes made, widely varying opinions on the outcome – I decided to just read and follow the recipe as directed. This is my take on the results of this recipe, prepared exactly as it instructs. If the directions are followed and the bananas are chopped, a whole different consistency of not only the batter, but also the cake, is achieved. It is CAKE, not at all like a dense, heavy banana bread texture. It is much lighter than that, with a soft and tender crumb – in color and texture it’s similar to a yellow cake, even tho’ the batter is quite thick. What’s cool about chopping the bananas and folding them in is that you get these delightful pockets of creamy banana in every mouthful. I wouldn’t hesitate to make this cake again – on its own, with the chopped banana, or with any variety of fruits as well. It is only slightly sweet, but with the frosting it’s just right. The frosting is ALMOST perfect. It’s creamy, fluffy and velvety smooth, with no air pockets despite being beaten at a high speed. And the use of heavy cream rather than milk, water, or any other liquid aids in achieving all those characteristics. But…the amount of butter is just a little much. While some butter cream frostings are too sweet, this one is noticeable butter overkill, and I say that even loving a butter cream frosting with lots of it. Reduce the butter to 1/2 cup and this would indeed be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I love this recipe it was fast,easy, and simply delicious! I was remeber that we were going to a party and we had to bring a dessert, I needed something simple, easy, and something everyone would love. This was perfect. Easy to clean and they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Sorry, but I have to give a low review. It was not good at all. It did not have much flavor at all and the texture was not agreeable. It was not sweet and did not taste like any cake I've eaten. I had high hopes, as I love anything with bananas in it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
These are easy and delicious! My bananas were older so I mashed them instead of cutting them up. I also baked a Nilla Wafer in the center of each cupcake but the flavor of the cake still shines through. Mine baked in 15 minutes and came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
i didnt make the cupcakes but i did use the recipe for the buttercream and it was really good it was perfect with cake decorating !!!!! love this!!!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I loved this recipe! Nice and simple. I did however change a few things in the cupcake part. Instead of 2 large bananas I used 3 large bananas. I chopped them up added 1/4 cup of water and put them in the microwave for 3 minutes on high then I pureed them. I also used 1.5 teaspoons of vanilla, instead of the 1 teaspoon this recipe calls for. I didn't have heavy whipping cream so I frosted them with peanut butter frosting! Absolutely delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lil_red_dress

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Very good buttercream next time I will try to put a little less confectioner's sugar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I tried making these today I was really excited. I did put an extra banana in to increase the babana flavour. I am not completely dissapointed in them, howver they are differnt from what i expected. You definitely need to add MORE flour if your adding another banana. I think i am missing something because they taste like banana muffins not cupcakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mz Lada

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Magadan, Magadan Oblast, Russia
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I Love The Frosting~ :) It was so yummy~ Me & my teacher loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanashima

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
It's an ok starter recipe. I'm bummed b/c the cupcake stuck to the paper. The taste is a nice light banana flavor but could use some cinnamon! On a good note, they are very moist. I tried one without frosting and it was good that way. I will be frosting them later with a cream cheese frosting that I made a few days ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willsboro, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States