Banana and Strawberry Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This is a fine smoothie recipe. I was scared of the cinnamon, so I skipped that and added a little OJ, but this is a quite normal recipe for a smoothie. I made it after a workout and enjoyed it. I don't often review recipes, but this one has gotten a lot of unfair 1-stars. If you feel the need to add whipped cream, ice cream and sugar, I suggest you search for milkshake next time, not smoothie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crownsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
too much ground cinnamon. not so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Sledge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
The ground cinnamon was over bearing, I don't think you need as much. I do plan on making it without the cinnamon, my kids thought the cinnamon was to much as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
The cinnamon was subtle as long as I kept it stirred while drinking it, but I think cutting it back would be better. From a thickness point of view, I thought that amount of milk was fine. However, it might also be what kills the flavor. It could use more strawberries and some sweetener of some sort. After reading the reviews (and deciding to give it a shot anyway) I purposely used a VERY ripe banana, and frozen strawberries which are sweeter than the 'fresh' we get around here, plus that helped make it colder. But still - just didn't think it was very good, I had to add some honey to make it drinkable, and even then did not finish it. Despite the ingredients, I do understand why a couple of people thought it tasted like flour/dough. Obviously, a lot of people have not liked this, but still, I can't comprehend leaving a bad score because of optional food coloring (which I didn't use) when you didn't even make it! and I also have to assume the person who submitted it likes it - I mean duh! So maybe some of us don't like it, but the submitter is welcome to stay in the afore-mentioned kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Used fresh strawberries and a banana. I didn't care for the addition of cinnamon, but hey, you win some and you lose some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I liked the cinnamon in this! By using frozen fruit, I enjoyed a smooth, thick shake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
OMG - some people don't read! (riamontero07) says food coloring optional!! I only had frozen strawberries and very ripe bananas and the flavour was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Waumsley-Sharpe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Everyone knows that strawberry and banana in a blender with milk comes out great every time! The drop of food coloring gives it a beautiful strawberry color, making it more appealing to guests and kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4thegospel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I left out the cinnamon and food coloring, only put a 1/2 cup milk and added ice and a little granulated sugar. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

How to Make Strawberry Smoothies

Watch how to make a healthy yogurt and strawberry smoothie in your blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States