Banana and Peanut Butter Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I gave this 2 stars because I found the flavor really nice, even though I threw them all away. I wanted to make something different and special for breakfast today, and I had no eggs. This sounded perfect. I followed the recipe except that I doubled the ingredients. The results were dense and way too "moist". They were not fluffy and even when the outside was way too brown, the center had a wet texture as if it were not fully cooked. I will not make these again. ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I added some flax seed meal and used whole wheat flour to make it a bit healthier. Like other reviewers have said, batter came out really watery and the I didn't taste the bananas. I added a tad more flour as suggested but still a no go. Disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I prepared the recipe to the directions and found the pancakes to be flat and lacking flavor. I added 1/2 tsp baking soda and one egg and a sprinkle of cinnamon, they came out much more fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I made this morning for the family and it came out great! I added 1/2 tsp. of vanilla extract (instead of 1/4) and 1 tablespoon of brown sugar (instead of 1 teaspoon), and chilled it in the fridge for 30 minutes to allow the baking powder to activate. I didn't find the batter to be thin and soupy at all. The pancakes came out fluffy and delicious and the flavour balance of peanut butter and banana was great. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LorriY
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Amazing and my child loved it. One thing though, you can never have enough peanut butter and banana in there. Impossible. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristenmarie211

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
My favorite pancake recipe so far, my family loved them. Next time I would try to cut much smaller chunks of banana, as the larger chunks seemed to keep some of the flipped pancake from cooking all the way through on the first pancakes I made. Lovely recipe, yum! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This was great. I think there was just enough peanut butter and just enough banana. I used one frozen banana which I mashed and one fresh banana that I cut into chuncks. I did double the batter and used half whole wheat and half all purpose. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlondeJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
i read everyone else's reviews AFTER making the batter and eating a pancake, and i feel as though maybe a lot of people who chose to try this recipe don't make pancakes regularly... if you haven't made pancakes frequently, and you haven't experimented making pancakes before, then you should before trying this recipe. i followed the recipe as it were, adding all the dry ingredients, vanilla, and peanut butter together (two spoonfuls~1/4 cup) and then the whole banana (mashed while stirring). once this appears mixed, i poured milk directly from the carton into the mix until the mixture was of the right consistency--this is always the recommended method when making pancakes, because then you are able to adjust your batter better. i found it should definitely be slightly runnier, because the peanut butter and bananas chunk up and make the pancake thick while it is cooking (leading to either burning on one side, or raw in the center)-- PERFECT PANCAKES, every time. and they're outstandingly delicious. the only pancakes i've ever wanted to eat without needing butter or syrup, so i'm not sure if others used bad pb or bad bananas, but Jif and normal-sized, raw (slightly blackened peel) bananas were fantastic in this. *Only* thing i added was a teaspoon of baking soda. (baking powder+baking soda=awesome baked goods, especially pancakes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
The pancakes were good. I used whole wheat flour, cinnamon, and extra vanilla as others suggested. But the pancakes stuck to the pan like glue, even when I put more oil on the pan. Maybe it needs oil in the pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I followed the recipe, mostly. I used organic whole wheat pastry flour and I sifted it. Then I substituted the milk with un-sweetened almond milk and cut it to 1 1/2 cups. I also used crunchy peanut butter. And I used one large banana with large-ish pieces. I spread some more peanut butter on top with some lyke's golden syrup. GOOD stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Banana Pancakes I

Discover the secret to fluffy, flavorful banana pancakes.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States