Banana and Black Bean Saute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Add a little extra honey if needed and it will give it a sweeter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This meal just tasted tropical! I didn't know what to expect, but it was great. I used 1/2 the coconut milk to cut some calories, a whole can of black beans, and 2 bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This intrigued me, I had all the ingredients and gave it a try. My rating is closer to 3 1/2-4 stars. I used the entire can of coconut milk and the whole thing turned out very soupy and runny so I'll cut that back next time. I served over brown basmati rice and the dish kind of felt like a breakfast porridge. I liked the taste and may just eat it for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawnee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I kept stumbling on this recipe while doing ingredient searches. Since I had all of the ingredients, I gave it a whirl. It was certainly interesting, but a little on the sweet side and very soupy despite using less than half the coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I thought the dish would be too soupy, too sweet, under-seasoned but it's absolutely perfect. I served it on rice and as it takes no time to make, it's going to be a staple meal in my house. My kids also loved it, no doubt because it's rich and sweet and comforting. I will likely add the entire can of beans next time as well as the whole lime and an extra half of a banana so that I might have left-overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I quite enjoyed this sauce. It was good over the rice... I think I may try it over some pancakes as well, since it was such a sweet, dessert-y flavour. My husband did not enjoy this when I served it hot, but actually liked it better later on after it had soaked into the rice and been refrigerated. I also really loved finding a sweet recipe to use blackbeans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This tasted just as I thought it would. Really perfect for Winter blahs! Hubby loved it, and the kids enjoyed it as well. It is sweet, but not too sweet, and the beans mellow the flavor. I used coconut oil as the cooking oil, and the bananas were perfect! Yeah, there are a lot of calories... that said, this is a VERY filling meal, and the serving size is (in my opinion) very large (I am a big person, and I couldnt eat my whole portion!). Thank you for sharing! (I forgot to mention, we served this over jasmine rice)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This definitely seemed more like a breakfast porridge than a dinner. It tasted good but was very rich and sweet. Odd for dinner! FYI - I made 1/2 cup (dry) basmati rice with this dish and it seemed to be the right proportions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Definitely interesting...but didn't suit my taste. Not bad at all. I think the sweet/soupy/warm situation just confused me. I decided to put in some oatmeal to thicken it and will eat it for breakfast. Give it a shot for fun and curiosity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brosko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Deerfield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Made this for breakfast. It was good, but I will try with plantains next time. I think they will give it a more authentic and better flavor than bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States