Banana and Black Bean Saute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Quick. Easy. Kids hated it. But to me, this really was okay, like acceptably good, but not something for which I think I'll spend the extra money for coconut milk........ BUT because I love the idea of a new bean breakfast dish - I thought about what I could do to try to make this work for me.....: I'LL ADD EXTRA LIME JUICE, ALLSPICE, RED PEPPER FLAKES (just a touch), BLACK PEPPER (just a touch), FRESH GINGER (tossed in before the banana), JALAPENOS (on top at the end - the tamed type so I can eat a lot of them), AND (well, for me... salt is a must, but I've salted ice cream before......)... HMMMM, AND ???MAYBE SOME FRESH BANANA SALSA w/Ginger ON TOP??? That might make it work (might try plantains instead though - both in with the beans and in the salsa) ........ OOOOOOO, AND TOASTED COCONUT FLAKES - at which point, I might be able to forego the coconut milk and use some other type of milk........ that's it..... gotta make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by simplemom6675
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
My kids had a friend over for dinner and I needed something easy and quick, they all raved about this dish! I added a dash of cinnamon and served it over rice, it was absolutely delicious! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
The recipe is great but I found it to be a little sweet and bland. I see that a lot of people said it was soupy, if you start with a roux (which I did) it will thicken the sauce. I added a clove of garlic minced, 1 diced tomato, 1/2 an onion [chopped] and crushed red pepper to taste (also some garlic chicken sausage). It turned out GREAT! I served with some brown rice and enjoyed thoroughly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
My husband loved it, but I wasn't that thrilled. Not my preference, though it was good for what it was. Just too unusual for me! My husband wanted to add chicken to it, so I think we are going to take the leftovers and pour them over a chicken breast and see how that tastes. May be better than over brown rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Made this for breakfast. It was good, but I will try with plantains next time. I think they will give it a more authentic and better flavor than bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Definitely interesting...but didn't suit my taste. Not bad at all. I think the sweet/soupy/warm situation just confused me. I decided to put in some oatmeal to thicken it and will eat it for breakfast. Give it a shot for fun and curiosity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brosko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Deerfield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This definitely seemed more like a breakfast porridge than a dinner. It tasted good but was very rich and sweet. Odd for dinner! FYI - I made 1/2 cup (dry) basmati rice with this dish and it seemed to be the right proportions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This tasted just as I thought it would. Really perfect for Winter blahs! Hubby loved it, and the kids enjoyed it as well. It is sweet, but not too sweet, and the beans mellow the flavor. I used coconut oil as the cooking oil, and the bananas were perfect! Yeah, there are a lot of calories... that said, this is a VERY filling meal, and the serving size is (in my opinion) very large (I am a big person, and I couldnt eat my whole portion!). Thank you for sharing! (I forgot to mention, we served this over jasmine rice)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I quite enjoyed this sauce. It was good over the rice... I think I may try it over some pancakes as well, since it was such a sweet, dessert-y flavour. My husband did not enjoy this when I served it hot, but actually liked it better later on after it had soaked into the rice and been refrigerated. I also really loved finding a sweet recipe to use blackbeans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I thought the dish would be too soupy, too sweet, under-seasoned but it's absolutely perfect. I served it on rice and as it takes no time to make, it's going to be a staple meal in my house. My kids also loved it, no doubt because it's rich and sweet and comforting. I will likely add the entire can of beans next time as well as the whole lime and an extra half of a banana so that I might have left-overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States