Banana-Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
After reading other reviews, I made a couple of changes. I used 2 cups of grated zucchini, and I cut the white sugar back to 1/2 cup. I also used 1 cup applesauce instead of oil. I also baked it for about 40 minutes, but I have a convection oven. This bread was moist, and it was a great way to use up both bananas and zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
303 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
My whole family loved this recipe! The only reason I didn’t give it 5 stars is because I did change it just a tiny bit. I left out the nuts and cranberries and only used 2/3 cup Sugar. Also I used Cinnamon Plus (a cinnamon spice blend for pampered chef that has nutmeg, allspice, orange peel, cloves, & ginger) instead of just cinnamon. I cooked it in a muffin pan (making 24 muffins) instead of loaf pans. It takes less time to cook so keep an eye on the muffins. I think it was about 25-30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
218 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Delicious! As others suggested I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup and increased the zucchini to 2 cups. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Nazianz, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Pretty good but could use way more banana; 2 mashed bananas equals 2/3 cup which is not much for 2 whole loaves. I found it a bit dry and think adding more banana next time will help. I also doubled the cranberries and nuts; toasted the nuts in the microwave for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PTMUGUCA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
thank you for this great recipe. I followed the recipe and made a few changes, instead of a cup of white sugar i to only use 1/2 cup to cut back on the amount of sugar being used, i also added in 3 tablespoons of ground golden flaxseed, and i put in 1/4 cup of Herseys cocoa and it turned out wonderful my whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PTMUGUCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
WOW!!! This was fantastic!! Hands down the best bread I have EVER had!! I can't even explain it but the bananas added just something extra texture and flavor wise that really amps up your normal zucchini bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlondeJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
This was pretty good. I didn't think it was "great", but I made some changes, so I might have done that on my own. I substituted apple sauce for the oil to make it healthier. It was somewhat dry, and this may have caused that, even though I have subbed apple sauce before to other recipes without any problems. I also reduced the white sugar to 1/3 cup. It was a good amount of sugar. 1 cup would have been way too much. I also switched out pecans for walnuts. Also, it only needed to bake 35-40 minutes. I took it out after 40, but since it was a bit dry, maybe it could have come out even sooner. Overall, it was very good, just a little dry. Will probably play around with it & try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjlund

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
Very good. I made it in mini loaf pans, and it made five. Instead of nuts I added about 1/2 c of blueberries; kept everything else as written. Very moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zelienople, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harmony, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Was very good whole family loved it. But should be called banana-cranberry-zucchini bread because the cranberries added sooo much good flavor to the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This was absolutely delicious, although the amount of white sugar was omitted from the ingredient list, even though it was referred to in the instructions. I put in 1/4 cup of white sugar, omitted the nuts and upped the dried cranberries to one cup. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States