Banana-Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This was absolutely delicious, although the amount of white sugar was omitted from the ingredient list, even though it was referred to in the instructions. I put in 1/4 cup of white sugar, omitted the nuts and upped the dried cranberries to one cup. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
Very good. I made it in mini loaf pans, and it made five. Instead of nuts I added about 1/2 c of blueberries; kept everything else as written. Very moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zelienople, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harmony, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
This was pretty good. I didn't think it was "great", but I made some changes, so I might have done that on my own. I substituted apple sauce for the oil to make it healthier. It was somewhat dry, and this may have caused that, even though I have subbed apple sauce before to other recipes without any problems. I also reduced the white sugar to 1/3 cup. It was a good amount of sugar. 1 cup would have been way too much. I also switched out pecans for walnuts. Also, it only needed to bake 35-40 minutes. I took it out after 40, but since it was a bit dry, maybe it could have come out even sooner. Overall, it was very good, just a little dry. Will probably play around with it & try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjlund

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Pretty good but could use way more banana; 2 mashed bananas equals 2/3 cup which is not much for 2 whole loaves. I found it a bit dry and think adding more banana next time will help. I also doubled the cranberries and nuts; toasted the nuts in the microwave for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
After reading other reviews, I made a couple of changes. I used 2 cups of grated zucchini, and I cut the white sugar back to 1/2 cup. I also used 1 cup applesauce instead of oil. I also baked it for about 40 minutes, but I have a convection oven. This bread was moist, and it was a great way to use up both bananas and zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
302 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PTMUGUCA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
thank you for this great recipe. I followed the recipe and made a few changes, instead of a cup of white sugar i to only use 1/2 cup to cut back on the amount of sugar being used, i also added in 3 tablespoons of ground golden flaxseed, and i put in 1/4 cup of Herseys cocoa and it turned out wonderful my whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PTMUGUCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
This was soo good! I'll be making this again! The only thing that I did different was I used Planter Trail Mix with M & M's, dried cranberried, rasins and mixed nuts-I used 1 cup. It was really moist and very good. I took it to a family reunion and there wasn't a slice left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelmcelroy76

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dakota City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
My whole family loved this recipe! The only reason I didn’t give it 5 stars is because I did change it just a tiny bit. I left out the nuts and cranberries and only used 2/3 cup Sugar. Also I used Cinnamon Plus (a cinnamon spice blend for pampered chef that has nutmeg, allspice, orange peel, cloves, & ginger) instead of just cinnamon. I cooked it in a muffin pan (making 24 muffins) instead of loaf pans. It takes less time to cook so keep an eye on the muffins. I think it was about 25-30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
218 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Great bread, with a few changes. I substitute yogurt or applesauce for the oil, used coconut instead of cranberries, add more banana to replace some of the sugar, and spice it up a bit more. For the flour I have used quinoa, millet, oat bran and multigrain or just wheat instead of white flour to give more nutrition to this bread. Very moist and flavorful even with changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
This was moist and yummy! I made a few changes which worked out just fine. I reduced the oil to 1/2 cup, reduced the white sugar to 2/3 cup, increased the zucchini to 2 cups and used 1 cup of chocolate chips instead of the cranberries and nuts. It was quickly devoured!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kelso, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States