Banana-Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This was really good, though I tweaked it alot! I used applesauce in place of oil, added flaxseed meal, pinch of nutmeg, pinch of ginger, grated rind of 1 large orange, 1/3 cup melted orange juice concentrate ( because I ate the orange ). Next time I will add coconut.( I added coconut to banana bread before the garden was producing and it was yummy.)I used mostly unbleached flour and part whole wheat flour. Because last weeks heat ripened the bananas too fast I doubled the recipe and made two loaves and a ton of muffins. My elderly neighbors and my parents were happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I only made half a batch but I still used 3 bananas (I didn't have any zucchini on hand) so to kind of compensate, I chopped a Fuji apple into pretty small cubes and threw that in. Yes, it didn't taste like banana/zucchini bread anymore, but it tasted almost like a great apple pie in bread form somehow! It was great! There was too much sugar in this recipe... I read the previous reviews and only used the brown sugar and no white sugar and there was still too much. I would still use less. I didn't have craisins, so I added some raisins instead, and threw in some extra cinnamon and a little nutmeg just for flavor. Substituted applesauce for the oil and added in some extra to increase the liquid content, and also added about 2 tbsp of flaxseed as suggested in a previous comment. To make the flour component healthier, I used the spice grinder (cleaned out first) to grind up the appropriate amount of old-fashioned rolled oats into whole grain oat flour. It only took a few minutes, and didn't give the cake/bread the odd taste that whole wheat flour can give it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
sub whole wheat flour, sub raw organic sugar (2 cups), no cranberries or nuts, 2 cups zucchini, and add chocolate chips..mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by granolagirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
great. added 5 small bananas. make sure to add additional favoring to batter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Very dense and dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
very easy for a 10 year old to make on her own!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This was just the recipe I needed today!! Had some zucchini to use up and this was the perfect thing for them. I did cut back the white sugar to 1/2 cup, substituted apple sauce instead of the oil, and used 2 cups of zucchini like others said!! (I didn't have any cranberries or walnuts but will try them for sure, next time) It is SO most and delicious! My picky son loved it!! Anything to get him to eat his veggies. You will have to try this recipe. My house smells amazing too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Nichole Sullivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Douglas, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I've been baking banana bread for nearly thirty years and this is my favorite just as it is...no modifications:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duchess, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Very good recipe. Even my picky husband likes it. I subbed in 1c of whole wheat flour to try to make the recipe a little healthier and reduced the white sugar to 1/2c and it was still plenty sweet. I went with muffins instead of loaves and made half of them with no cranberries or nuts for Mr. Picky. I ended up forgetting the cinnamon, but it was still great without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I read the reviews and took the suggestions to use half the white sugar and added an extra banana and more zucchini. I also used less cranberries and nuts. I made mine into muffins. (I got 18.) It took about 30 min. They came out light, moist and delicious! Keeping this on my list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA
Living In: Ardsley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States