Banana-Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
awesome...used 5 bananas though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I didn't alter the recipe one bit, and it was DELICIOUS!!! My family loved it! I don't think I will be making plain old banana or zucchini bread again! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Made this for extended family. Instead of making two loaves, I used a 13x9 pan. This was a big hit-- everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Love this bread!! I did not use cranberries or walnuts and I added an extra banana and a little more cinnamon. I also added a few chocolate chips (1/4 cup) to one of the loaves and it was awesome!!! The kids love this bread too! Will definately be making this bread again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
One thing I would recommend is more spice. I put extra cinnamon but it still wasn't enough and it could definitely use more flavor. Maybe my changes affected the outcome. I substituted yellow summer squash for zucchini and used 3 cups of shredded squash. I used only 1/2 cup of olive oil (for baking) and although I usually cut the sugar down, I used all of it (figuring my son wouldn't like it unless it was sweetened up a bit). I also used 2 cups of whole wheat flour, 1 cup of white flour, and 1/2 cup of flax meal. I also put cherry Craisins. In the end, we didn't love this bread. I thought it was a weird combo of zucchini, banana, and cranberry and it turns out it was. I'll toast it up tomorrow for breakfast and see if we like it better then. If I hadn't had both bananas and summer squash on hand, I probably would have stuck with my usual carrot or pumpkin muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This was really good, though I tweaked it alot! I used applesauce in place of oil, added flaxseed meal, pinch of nutmeg, pinch of ginger, grated rind of 1 large orange, 1/3 cup melted orange juice concentrate ( because I ate the orange ). Next time I will add coconut.( I added coconut to banana bread before the garden was producing and it was yummy.)I used mostly unbleached flour and part whole wheat flour. Because last weeks heat ripened the bananas too fast I doubled the recipe and made two loaves and a ton of muffins. My elderly neighbors and my parents were happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I only made half a batch but I still used 3 bananas (I didn't have any zucchini on hand) so to kind of compensate, I chopped a Fuji apple into pretty small cubes and threw that in. Yes, it didn't taste like banana/zucchini bread anymore, but it tasted almost like a great apple pie in bread form somehow! It was great! There was too much sugar in this recipe... I read the previous reviews and only used the brown sugar and no white sugar and there was still too much. I would still use less. I didn't have craisins, so I added some raisins instead, and threw in some extra cinnamon and a little nutmeg just for flavor. Substituted applesauce for the oil and added in some extra to increase the liquid content, and also added about 2 tbsp of flaxseed as suggested in a previous comment. To make the flour component healthier, I used the spice grinder (cleaned out first) to grind up the appropriate amount of old-fashioned rolled oats into whole grain oat flour. It only took a few minutes, and didn't give the cake/bread the odd taste that whole wheat flour can give it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
sub whole wheat flour, sub raw organic sugar (2 cups), no cranberries or nuts, 2 cups zucchini, and add chocolate chips..mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by granolagirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
great. added 5 small bananas. make sure to add additional favoring to batter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Very dense and dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States