Banana-Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Liked this recipe BUT, the second time around I reduced the amount of flour to 1 1/2 cup of flour (that amount of flour made my first attempt ok but not moist enough; second time around I only had enriched flour handy, so I used it) I grated a whole big zucchini that became two cups of it. Definitely reduced the sugar to either one, I only had white sugar so used 1 cup of it. and no nuts in my cakes.... then I cooked for about 15 minutes longer than recommended... and voila, a very exquisite moist cake that I had to hide in the freezer to stop eating it... delicious... next time I will try apple sauce or some kind of juice to replace the oil. Never thought of that.... thank you for the tip to Acurlytops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
My whole family loved this recipe. I did not have cranberries so I added some cinnamon chips instead and I sprinkled a tablespoon of sugar and a small amount of cinnamon on the top of each loaf before baking. Was absolutely delicious! This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Wonderful exactly as written! The second time I made them I didn't have bananas or cranberries so I substituted 1 cup shredded carrots, 1 diced apple and 2 tablespoons of orange marmalade. Again, wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Thank you for the recipe! Tried it and it came out amazing! However I doubled the bananas and zuccinis and only used a bit less of a cup of brown sugar, no white sugar at all. Came out sweet enough and very tender! thanks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
This is a good recipe. I read the reviews and did use less white sugar, added 8 oz of cream cheese (to avoid dryness), and 1/2 cup each chocolate chips and raisins. I baked them for about 55 minutes or more in two double wall gold bread pans from Williams Sonoma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I've made this recipe so many times by now I've lost count. Its really good and the combination of the zucchini, banana, cranberries, and walnuts is wonderful. I prefer to cook it at 340 degrees for an hour. I think cooking it at 325 degrees for 50 minutes runs the risk of under cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I had a zucchini and some bananas needing used TODAY so I came and found this recipe. I always try to make recipes as written the first time so that I know what to tweak to make it better. Aside from making 24 muffins, I basically followed this recipe exactly. My few minors changes were: I used an entire medium zucchini which measured just under 2 cups. I substituted the oil for 1 cup of unsweetened apple sauce and took other reviewers advice and cut the white sugar to 1/2 cup. Oddly, I was a little shy on the cinnamon so I added a generous pinch of nutmeg. These came out fab! My 7 year old gobbled them up! Next time, I think I would add more cranberries and nuts and also combine the dry ingredients together then add to the wet mix as I feel I overworked the flour a bit while measuring and adding the other dry things. Thanks for a yummy and healthy fall recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NativeAZMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Very good recipe!! We get big zucchinies in late summer and this recipe is perfect to use them. It's so good with banana, cranberry and walnuts...... Mmmmmmmmm......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
On recommendations of other reviewers I cut sugar down to 1/2 cup brown and 1/2 cup white sugar. I also added a cup of zucchini (mainly because I had a 5 pound zucchini!). It was very moist and yummy. I will definitely continue to use the modified recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I made this and did what some suggested added another banana cut back on the sugar. My husband said it was the best. I didn't add the nuts because my husband can't have them and I didn't have the cranberries however I still gave it 5 because I think those 2 ingredients would have just added to the great flavor. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Colfax, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States