Banana-Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
So glad to find this recipe to use up my brown bananas and extra zucchini. I made it without cranberries or nuts, but otherwise just as stated and think it's fantastic. Maybe next time I'll tweak it, it could stand to be a bit more moist, but we liked it a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Altered recipe after reading some reviews. In my version instead of the vegetable oil I added 1/2 cup applesauce and 1/4 cup coconut oil. I didn't use a full cup of white sugar, probably about 2/3 cup or so. I used 3 bananas (I was trying to use up browning ones) and I probably had about 1.5 cup of zucchini (trying to use more since I have a lot to get rid of). I didn't use cranberries or nuts of any kind (because I didn't have them). I baked mine in a Pampered Chef Stoneware Mini Loaf Pan, it was the perfect amount for all 4 loaves. I checked the bread at 30 minutes just to be safe and ended up going about another 20 minutes - just check it periodically!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I made several changes due to the fact that I didn't have a grater, and I didn't have vegetable oil. (and I didn't have any nuts on hand so I left them out) I pureed the zucchini (1 c.) and I used 1/2 c. of olive oil. Wasn't sure how it would turn out, but it's pretty good! Next time I would use about 1 1/2 c. of zucchini to get the full taste in there....but not too shabby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Just making it now. I replaced the cranberries with choc chips and the walnuts with peanuts. Can't wait to taste it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I never eat banana bread without butter - until now. I did modify the recipe a bit. I put in 3 bananas, used a generous cup of zucchini, left out the cranberries & nuts and replaced about 2/3 of the oil with cinnamon apple sauce. Wonderful flavor and moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Just made these and they are delish. I followed the recipe in every way other than adding another 2 bananas (all four bananas were small), and instead of cranberries I used chocolate chips. Moist and wonderful. Will use this recipe again! For Nordic Ware users: This recipe filled the Backyard Bugs pan and one of the Mini Bundt (makes 6) pans, with some to spare. I ended up filling them too high just to use all the batter--should have only filled half way up, and maybe used three pans not two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
My husband and I really enjoyed this wonderful bakery quality recipe. The only change I made was to use pecans instead of walnuts because of what I had on hand. Did have to leave bread in oven an extra 10 minutes, and I think it's because I live in a higher elevation which will account for that, but no biggie...all ovens are different so just check your loafs for doneness. They should have an equal color of a golden brown crust and most will be able to smell the most fantastic aroma when they are close to being done. Lastly, the combination of zucchini, very ripe bananas, cranberries and pecans was totally amazing and this is what makes this bread so great. Try not to deviate from ingredients otherwise it won't be the same. Thank you so much for sharing this fabulous recipe for all of us to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: La Habra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Liked this recipe BUT, the second time around I reduced the amount of flour to 1 1/2 cup of flour (that amount of flour made my first attempt ok but not moist enough; second time around I only had enriched flour handy, so I used it) I grated a whole big zucchini that became two cups of it. Definitely reduced the sugar to either one, I only had white sugar so used 1 cup of it. and no nuts in my cakes.... then I cooked for about 15 minutes longer than recommended... and voila, a very exquisite moist cake that I had to hide in the freezer to stop eating it... delicious... next time I will try apple sauce or some kind of juice to replace the oil. Never thought of that.... thank you for the tip to Acurlytops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
My whole family loved this recipe. I did not have cranberries so I added some cinnamon chips instead and I sprinkled a tablespoon of sugar and a small amount of cinnamon on the top of each loaf before baking. Was absolutely delicious! This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Wonderful exactly as written! The second time I made them I didn't have bananas or cranberries so I substituted 1 cup shredded carrots, 1 diced apple and 2 tablespoons of orange marmalade. Again, wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States