Banana-Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Although my coworkers really liked this, I found it drier than I would prefer. This was even after adding 1/2 cup applesauce (decreased oil bu 1/3 cup). I did sub in 1.5 cups of whole wheat pastry flour (2 cups all purpose) - so that may have been the dryness culprit. Also used 3 bananas and would increase this to 4 next time. Not bad, but not as awesome as the top rated zucchini bread recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I have never made any sort of bread be it banana or zuccini. However I searched for a recipe because everyone seems to be giving us zuccini and we had a surplus of bananas. IT WAS SO GOOD AND EASY! My husband said it reminded him of being a boy sitting at his grandma's kitchen table - a very nice compliment as she is a great cook! I have since made this several times now as we still are getting lots of zuccini although I suspect that the givers of the zuccini just really like the bread in return! Thanks so much for giving me the confidence to try MORE baking - this bread was awesome and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sides Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johannesburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Just made recipe this morning and they are moist and delicious. I made this recipe as muffins. It made 2 dozen. I also changed up the recipe just a tad. I used 2/3 c. oil, 2/3 c each of regular sugar and packed light brown sugar. Added 2 cups of shredded zucchini & 3 mashed bananas. I also added 2 tbsp. of room temp. butter in the batter before adding dry ingrdients.Last was the nuts (I used finely chopped Pecan) and 1/2 cup white chocolate chips ( I did not used the cranberries, not too big on cranberries). My mother, who is a baker, tried these and loved them! She couldn't believe I got the recipe on the Internet...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
great mix of flavors, the cranberries gave it that extra "something" without being overpowering. My husband does not normally like cranberries so I didnt' even tell him that's what they were... I think he assumed it was raisins, but said he loved the bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Winland Reed

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Norton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Yummy! Great way to use up those ripe bananas and zucchini! I added an extra cup of zucchini (I squoze out the water in a paper town so it really turned out to be about a cup and a half). And I threw in an extra banana, just because I had it. I made 4 small loaves and 6 muffins. The muffins cooked for 35 min. and the loaves for 45 min. Definitely do not cut back on the sugar!!! It needed all of it--perhaps because I added the extra zucchini and banana (?). Oh, I also made a crumb topping: 1TB butter cut w/ 1/3 c. brown sugar, 1 TB cinnamon, and 2 TB flour. Definitely a keeper! (Oh, I left out the cranberries and nuts because my family doesn't like them!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I guess it's strange to rate this 5 stars when I made so many changes- but it was delicious! I used 4 very ripe bananas, about a 1/2 cup more zucchini, a small handful of freshly ground flax, I added applesauce to make it 1/2 veg oil & 1/2 applesauce... I added about a tablespoon of lecithin for extra nutrition and about 2 Tablespoons of dutch cocoa. Oh, and I omitted 1/2 of the white sugar, because I decided to make a quick butter/sugar/crumb topping before baking. I made them into muffins instead, since I have 6, 4 & 2 year olds & figured they'd rather have "their OWN" muffin than just a slice of bread. I was right! They are SO good and there is no sign of them "tasting" healthy. The kids inhaled them, and 2 of my kids are extremely picky eaters. UPDATE 9/10/09: I just made another batch of muffins. This time I used 5 bananas & almost 2 cups zucchini... they came out perfectly at 20 min, sooo moist & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama2many

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I made it by replacing the oil with applesauce and using less sugar, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I used a yellow zucchini and the bread was a bit dry. Next time I'll use a green one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
I followed the recipe, except I omitted the cranberries and walnuts because I didn't have them on hand and I made muffins. I also added a few Tbsp of milled flax seed. We loved them, even my husband who doesn't like zucchini. Next time I will add the walnuts and maybe the cranberries too. I cooked the muffins 25 mins for regular size, and 15 mins for mini. It made 24 regular and 12 mini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Amazing! I have never liked zuccini bread but this was wonderful. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States