Banana Yogurt Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Made the following changes: used 3 cups oats, no dates, 3/4 cup orange juice, added 1/4 cup coconut oil to help congeal crust. For filling, used full fat evap milk, used full fat vanilla yogurt. It set up nicely in only about an hour. (Had extra filling so my 5-yr old assistant drank it as a smoothie.) If you don't keep the naturally occuring fat in a dairy product, your body cannot absorb any of the vitamins from the dairy product, no matter how many are added in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julielizabeth01

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Funny that so few people seemed to like this dish; I enjoyed how different it was from other pies. I would not use this as a dessert pie - it won't satisfy a sweet tooth, but as breakfast? Awesome! Not too sweet, but enough sugar to get you going for the day. As for difficulties with the crust - for heaven's sake people! If it's too dry, add liquid! I added a touch of melted butter and it worked out fine. I also added a bit of coconut milk in place of some of the evaporated milk, which was quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
If I could give this no stars I would. The worst recipe I have tried. The filling never firmed up. This created a huge mess on the floor of my car when I brought this to a friend's house for dinner. Will NEVER try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
Did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
Almost not worth rating, but felt like I had to warn others to NOT make this recipe. Something is missing (sugar?) Doesn't set up right, either. Even my husband, who eats anything rather than throw it out, tossed this one in the garbage (literally). Sorry, but this needs a lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
did not care for this at atll...impossible to get it to turn out right...ingredients sounded interesting, but its a loser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
this recipe is very nutritous and high in carbs. it is perfect for the runner in every family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2002
This recipe is very poorly thought out. As the other reviewer noted, the crust just doesn't work. The dates are too gummy and there is not enough liquid. There is also not enough gelatin in the recipe so the filling is very runny. After all those problems, it was so bland that I'd consider it inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
Has anyone else had trouble with this recipe? It looks really good but I couldn't get the crust to work. There wasn't enough liquid or something & the dates were sticky so my blender got all gummed up. Was there a misprint or did I just miss something? Please help because I would really like to try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States