Banana Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
I used 4 bananas for this recipe and made muffins, baking for 20-25 minutes. I added walnuts, chocolate chips and raisins separately to some of the muffins and left a few plain (I liked the ones with raisins best). I didn't have wheat germ but added some applesauce (between 1/4-1/2 cup) to help alleviate the dryness. A very tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
Hard to believe there's no sugar in this recipe. The only change I would make is to add more bananas. Otherwise, it really went over well in our household. I'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPELTRONG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
This is a great recipe. Very flavorful and moist. I can hardly tell that there's whole wheat flour in there! Tastes great for breakfast with some peanut butter on top. I've made 6 mini loaves already- I always have a bunch of overripe bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
My husband really likes this bread. It is quite easy to make since there is no rise time or yeast in the recipe. I do not consider this a dessert bread since it is not very sweet. I found it a tad dry. I also took my bread out of the oven at 55 minutes and it was a little overdone on the edges. Definitely check your bread loaf for doneness frequently after 45 minutes. I added sunflower seeds and chopped walnuts and that was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
Very tasty - buy extra bananas when they are on special so you can make this bread. I've made this three times and adding extra bananas helps with the dryness, but then, so does spreading the warm bread with a little peanut butter! :) Bottom line: an easy, healthy recipe that's ideal for a mom-to-be like me. I may try freezing my next loaf so I have some ready when I get home from the hospital!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
Excellent recipe. A good, dense, moist texture. I used four small bananas and substituted unsweetened applesauce for the oil. It was a hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2002
I thought the bread could have been a little sweeter but overall it was good. I think I'll add raisins when I make it again and that will add the sweetness I think it needs. Just made it today though and it may be more flavorful tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Absolutely love this bread!!! To alleviate any dryness, soak any nuts in a cup of warm water while preparing the rest of the recipe. This will allow them to soak up any fluid that they might later draw out of the bread causing dryness. Also, I added 1/2 cup of instant 5 grain oat cereal, a handfull of flax seeds, a small freshly pureed apple, and a tsp of allspice. Very moist and chewy. The family loves it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
I made muffins instead of bread, and they turned out great! I loved them plain and in milk. I think I will try more bananas next time, to soften them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
Pretty darn good & healthy. I didn't have enough bananas so I used 1/2 cup applesauce and it was still good. Thanks for a good & healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORI Q

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baker, Montana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States