Banana Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
My 18-month old really likes this and I am happy giving it to him because it's so nutritious. Substituted apple/apricot sauce for the oil and oat bran for the wheat germ. Tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
This is a nice healthy bread. The only change I made was adding strawberry/banana applesauce (instead of oil). Came out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
The bread was good, but I thought it was a little on the dry side. I don't know enough about cooking to offer suggestions on how to fix this, but I used butter to mask the dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
This recipe worked really well although I modified a few things. Used 4 mashed bananas, and replaced the oil with Smart Balance butter. To help moisten the batter, I added Vanilla Soy Milk to the mix and then poured it into a paper lined cupcake pan. This made 20 muffins. Oh yes- they baked only for 25 minutes and came out perfect! My husband and son loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
I love the healthiness of this Banana Bread. It was dry, however, eventhough I added 1/2 c. more banana. Would try it again but add apple sauce for more moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmstarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Point, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
This recipe is EXCELLENT! Very moist and tastes great...I've made muffins and added raisins once and chopped up figs once, both were great additions. I also substituted flax seeds for wheat germ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alemonada

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Pretty good. I think I used up all my wheat germ so I subbed oat bran for it, and cinnamon applesauce for the oil. I went out for a walk and came back later than what I thought so I'm not sure how long this baked, but it came out very moist and tasty. You can really taste the wheat flour and honey in this, and it gives it a reallly nice flavor change from regular banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
I thought this recipe was fantastic, although I did change a few things. I used 4 extra ripe bananas pureed in the blender, 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce in place of the vegetable oil, and I added 2 tbsp. milk because the batter was a little dry. I poured the batter into mini muffin tins and sprinkled walnuts on top since I didn't have any pecans. The recipe was enough to make about 55 mini muffins and I only had to cook each batch for about 12 minutes. They turned out perfect and tasted delicious. I love them because they are such a healty treat that are great for breakfast or even a snack. My family loved them so much that I had to hide some in the freezer for later before they were all gobbled up. I will definately make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
Fantastic recipe! I'm not a great fan of honey, so I used 1/4 c honey and 1/4c raw (turbinado) sugar. I also added golden raisins ans walnuts rather than pecans. You would never guess this recipe had no white flour. It is superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
good recipe...flavorful but light, unlike most banana breads. next time i plan to add more banana and maybe a tsp of cinnamon to enhance the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States