Banana Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
Always happy to find good tasting food that is actually healthy. Only had an 1/8 cup of honey on hand, so also added an 1/8 cup of maple syrup ( maybe a tiny bit more) and followed the rest of the recipe as is. EXCELLENT!! Thanks for Sharing!!! The best Banana bread ever. Delicious and Healthy. What a combination!!Am throwing away all other banana bread recipes. This with the whole wheat is my new keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
Not only is this recipe easy, but it is yummy AND good for you! Even my kids (5 & 15 months) love it! I made just a few minor changes - reduced salt to 1/2 teaspoon, used unsweetened applesauce instead of oil, and I added 1/2 teaspoon Cinnamon. Also, I made 4 mini loaves and baked at 350 for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
i made this bread as muffins and added a cream cheese frosting for a more desserty taste. they were absolutely wonderful and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
Great banana wheat bread! I followed the other member suggestion and used apple sauce instead of oil and I used walnuts instead of pecans. Taste great and it's healthy :) Thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montevideo, Montevideo, Uruguay
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
My 18-month old really likes this and I am happy giving it to him because it's so nutritious. Substituted apple/apricot sauce for the oil and oat bran for the wheat germ. Tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
This is a nice healthy bread. The only change I made was adding strawberry/banana applesauce (instead of oil). Came out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
The bread was good, but I thought it was a little on the dry side. I don't know enough about cooking to offer suggestions on how to fix this, but I used butter to mask the dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
This recipe worked really well although I modified a few things. Used 4 mashed bananas, and replaced the oil with Smart Balance butter. To help moisten the batter, I added Vanilla Soy Milk to the mix and then poured it into a paper lined cupcake pan. This made 20 muffins. Oh yes- they baked only for 25 minutes and came out perfect! My husband and son loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
I love the healthiness of this Banana Bread. It was dry, however, eventhough I added 1/2 c. more banana. Would try it again but add apple sauce for more moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmstarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Point, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
This recipe is EXCELLENT! Very moist and tastes great...I've made muffins and added raisins once and chopped up figs once, both were great additions. I also substituted flax seeds for wheat germ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alemonada

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States