Banana Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This is the absolute best banana wheat bread I've ever had .I would'nt change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Oldsmar, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I liked this recipe very much. I added about a cup of chocolate chips and some cinnamon as well. My loaf over baked a tad so next time I would only allow it to bake for about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Really good, healthy recipe. I made muffins as another reviews suggested because I always burn breads. They turned out really well! I added craisins and some apple butter. Next time I will add cinnamon as well. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
This wasn't as sweet or as moist as other banana breads I've tried but it was still good. I topped each slice with honey and that made it great. I also added cinnamon and nutmeg per some other reviewer's suggestions. Update: I made this again using vanilla yogurt in place of the oil, 4 very ripe bananas and cinnamon honey. This time it came out very moist and much more flavorful. - it didn't need the honey topping. I also watched the cooking time very closely and stopped it at 45 minutes so that it wouldn't dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Almost perfect! Only needs some flavorings like cinnamon and nutmeg. Texture was good and firm but not too dry. I would prefer it a bit more moist, but it was okay as is. We topped it with an oat streusel and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Everyone in my family, kids to adults, absolutely loved this bread. Very moist and rich. Hard to believe it's so healthful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
This is my absolute new favorite banana bread recipe! I grew up eating banana bread and this is the best ever! I used apple sauce instead of the oil, added extra vanilla and a teas of butter extract, and left out one of the egg yokes. I also laid a few pecans on the top of the loaf for more pecan flavoring. Lastly I added 1/2 cup chocolate chips and it turned out great! Slices beautifully and great for toasting and having plain or with coffee. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Very good recipe. I add a couple of tablespoons of sugar/splenda blend to it and a half a cup of applesauce. It's so nice and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I might sweeten it up a little for next time, but it was really moist and almost cake like texture. I sprinkled some oats and brown sugar on top. Loaf looked great, wish I had taken a picture!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacyloo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Turned out great! I used 3 bananas, margarine instead of oil, and a little less than 1/2 c of honey. I might add another banana next time or perhaps some shredded carrots. I used walnuts (toasted them first) instead of pecans. Also I'm planning to add some spices in the future. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States