Banana Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Love this banana bread. People have told me that this is the "best" banana bread they have tasted. I also don't feel guilty giving it to my kids as an after-school snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
We just took these out of the oven and they are wonderful! I did make a few changes: 1. Added about a 1/4 cup of ground flax seeds 2. Used Agava syrup instead of honey(just didn't have honey on hand) 3. Added 1/2 of applesauce. We baked them as muffins for 15 minutes. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MilitaryWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
So glad I found this recipe! I did what many reviewers recommended and upped the bananas to 2 cups (~ 4 small to medium bananas) and used 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce instead of oil. I also used walnuts instead of pecans and added 1/2 cup of craisins. I substituted egg beaters whites for the eggs. It turned out great, very hearty and filling and plenty moist. It makes a great "breakfast bread"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Pretty good muffins. Baked for 25 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Thanks for this wonderful recipe. I've made this bread 3 times. If you're looking for a great-tasting, nutrition-dense banana bread that isn't high and fat and sugar, this is it. I use 4 bananas. I had trouble getting the bread out of my corning ware 9x5x3 loaf pan, so switched to using 2-8x4x2.5 metal pans. I set the timer for 50 minutes, and the bread was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Excellent. I have tried about 10 different banana bread recipes and this one is the best. It combines ease of making with being tasty and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This was AMAZING - so yummy, but also healthy as well!!! I used 2C of bananas, but other than that, followed the recipe. It got us a 9X4 loaf, as well as 12 muffins. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Suprisingly good recipe. You wouldn't know it's made with whole wheat flour and no sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
This recipe allows for lots of improvisation. I used sugar free syrup to save some extra calories. It was just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geekygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Because of health reasons, my husband and I are trying to eliminate refined and processed foods. This bread is delicious! I substituted maple syrup for honey. Instead of using veg. oil, I used 1/8 c olive oil and 1/2 c apple sauce. Reduced cooking time to 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann K
Living In: Estero, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States