Banana Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This is my 1st recipe w/ entirely wheat flour and wheat germ. I was nervous that is was going to turn out dry. I took the tips & tricks of others and it came out moist & delicious. I replaced the oil with natural applesauce, soaked the walnuts in water while preparing the bread, used 4 bananas, decreased salt to 1/2 tsp, and added dark chocolate chips. I made mini loaves and cooked them for 25-28 minutes. My picky husband said it was awesome! Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Fantastic recipe! Here are my changes: only 1/3 cup honey, no wheat germ, no vanilla and used walnuts instead of pecans. I have a convection oven, so only 45 minutes. Thank you so much for such a healthy banana bread recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I LOVE this banana bread recipe. I've made this several times. I have a batch in the oven right now! I make muffins and cook only 20-25 minutes. The only thing I do different is add mini chocolate chips. Great for breakfast or as a snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Essexville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This is fantastic! The texture was perfect (I made mini loaves and baked for 28 minutes), and this tastes good as well as tasting healthy. I do agree with some of the other comments about using more bananas though. 1 1/2 cups does not seem to provide enough banana taste to this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I made this recipe and it was dry, real dry. I did not have any honey so I used agave syrup but I can't imagine that would change it's texture. I will not make this one again unless I double the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I used 4 bananas and added raisins and chocolate chips. Made muffins out of them and they are delicious. Not too sweet, which is what I like about them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Not a sweet banana bread, but still moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
For me this bread was a bit dry and bland (and I was careful not to over-handle the dough). I used 4 big bananas and added 1 tsp cinnamon and some nutmeg. Next time I might add some brown sugar or chocolate chips, and use more bananas (the good bites are the ones that have little sweet chunks of banana); applesauce might also help. It also might need to be covered at least half of the time it's in the oven - the top of mine started to burn at 35 minutes (I live at high altitude. Ugh). I'll definitely try it again with these modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I substituted vanilla yogurt for the vegetable oil, used ground flax instead of wheat germ (what I had on hand), used 1/4 c. honey and 1/4 brown sugar, and added 1 c. dark chocolate chips. It turned out great and the chips added a different taste to the bread that was nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States