Banana Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This is fantastic! The texture was perfect (I made mini loaves and baked for 28 minutes), and this tastes good as well as tasting healthy. I do agree with some of the other comments about using more bananas though. 1 1/2 cups does not seem to provide enough banana taste to this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I made this recipe and it was dry, real dry. I did not have any honey so I used agave syrup but I can't imagine that would change it's texture. I will not make this one again unless I double the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I used 4 bananas and added raisins and chocolate chips. Made muffins out of them and they are delicious. Not too sweet, which is what I like about them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Not a sweet banana bread, but still moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
For me this bread was a bit dry and bland (and I was careful not to over-handle the dough). I used 4 big bananas and added 1 tsp cinnamon and some nutmeg. Next time I might add some brown sugar or chocolate chips, and use more bananas (the good bites are the ones that have little sweet chunks of banana); applesauce might also help. It also might need to be covered at least half of the time it's in the oven - the top of mine started to burn at 35 minutes (I live at high altitude. Ugh). I'll definitely try it again with these modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I substituted vanilla yogurt for the vegetable oil, used ground flax instead of wheat germ (what I had on hand), used 1/4 c. honey and 1/4 brown sugar, and added 1 c. dark chocolate chips. It turned out great and the chips added a different taste to the bread that was nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Sorry, this did not appeal to anyone in the family. No one liked the combination of honey and banana, and it was not sweet enough. The texture was decent, that's about the only good thing I can say about it. I have tried many banana bread recipes, and this one is probably the worst.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Very good banana bread. One critique...my baking time was about 45-50 minutes. An hour would have been too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Loved this one but the baking time was too much..mine was ready in half an hour..but it was really delicious..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Living In: Khobar, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Love this banana bread. People have told me that this is the "best" banana bread they have tasted. I also don't feel guilty giving it to my kids as an after-school snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States