Banana Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
I should have read more of the reviews before putting this together. Unfortunately it was very dry and overdone after 50 minutes. It certainly has potential with more banana, less bake time and possibly some sugar & cinnamon. This time I just added honey to the top as a spread. I will try to make again with the previous changes/additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RioChick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saxtons River, Vermont, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Good bread. Like others I replaced the oil with applesauce I also added about 2 Tbsp of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
You can't really go wrong with this recipe. I didnt have any veg oil, so i used margarine; didnt have honey so used maple syrup; didnt have wheat germ, so i used wheat bran. Tossed in choco chips, raisins and lots of nuts. The bread didnt rise as much as I wanted still delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Wholesome and filling. I also substituted applesauce for vegetable oil. Very good and healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
I loved these so much that I felt compelled to write my first review! I took the suggestions of some of the other reviews below (used 1/4 cup applesauce and added just 2 TBSP of vegetable oil). I also added an extra banana and did not mash them completely so that there would be big banana chunks in the muffins. Topped each with a whole pecan before baking and they turned out beautifully. Will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Very good and healthy. Used 1/4 rolled oats instead of wheat germ. Instead of 1/4 cup of oil, I used 2 TBS veggie oil and 1/2 cup applesauce. Did not have honey, substituted brown sugar. I made muffins instead of bread. I did not mix in the nuts, I sprinkled them on top of the muffins. Cooked the muffins for 30 mintues, next time I will only do 20 minutes... they were a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
I made a double batch of this today. Milling my own Wheat Montana Prairie Gold wheat berries and subbing oat flour for the wheat germ. I used no oil but all applesauce. Used walnuts. Next time I will use a little oil and more honey and maybe some dates as I didn't think it was quite sweet enough for banana bread. We are enjoying this bread! Our 16 month old granddaugher said 'ummmmmmmmmmmm!'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gayle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Very tasty. I, also, used applesauce in stead of oil. I baked muffins for 15 minutes in 350 convection oven. I lined the muffin pans with flax flour. It made 18 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALPURV

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
This is a beautiful recipie - the resulting bread has the perfect amount of sweetness. Sometimes I add an extra banana, which gives the bread a bit more moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
This recipe was ok... a little too... wheatty? It was good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States