Banana Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 4, 2006
Fantastic recipe! I'm not a great fan of honey, so I used 1/4 c honey and 1/4c raw (turbinado) sugar. I also added golden raisins ans walnuts rather than pecans. You would never guess this recipe had no white flour. It is superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
good recipe...flavorful but light, unlike most banana breads. next time i plan to add more banana and maybe a tsp of cinnamon to enhance the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
Good base recipe! I used apple sauce instead of oil, added 1/4 cup splenda to sweeten, 2 bananas and added cinnamin and raisins. Baked for 25 minutes to make 6 awesome healthy muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
this bread is SO good! i used applesauce and just one TBSP oil and 2 cups of bannanas. watch the oven, its doesnt need to bake as long as the recipe calls for. it was moist and so yummy! even my boyfriend who doesnt like anything healthy or whole wheat liked it! will definately make again. thanks for the recommendations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
I thought this bread was great! Nice and moist.Like others I used applesauce with 2Tbsp oil.Also added a little splenda, cinnamon, nutmeg & clove to add some spice.Thanks!This is a keeper :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
3/20/06 I used this recipe to make muffins yesterday and they are delicious. I used 5 over-ripe bananas and 1/2 cup of homemade applesauce (a recipe I found on this site) in place of the oil. It made 12 mini muffins for my 2.5 year old daughter, and 18 regular muffins for my husband and me. I love it. The muffins are very very moist, and have a thick texture. I had trouble finding wheat germ at the store, but finally found it next to the oatmeal and cream of wheat. The muffins cooked about 15 min for the minis and 20 for the regular. I think they taste great, my daughter loves them, and my non-muffin-eating husband even said they are "pretty good." I can't believe these are so healthy and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kilijen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
I added extra banana as others suggested, I subbed all the oil for applesauce. I also used imitation honey (sugar free). The bread was really good, but check for doneness early as mine took about 10 minutes less time... Overall an excellent and healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
My husband loves healthy items and this one is A BIG HIT in our house. I have made it now 5 times already! Thanks so much for sharing this great recipe. I have only changed one thing and that is what kind of nuts to add in, this time I did one loaf with almonds and one with walnuts. Otherwise it's perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simcha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
This recipe has a good flavor but it was pretty dry. I used almonds instead of pecans and cooked it about 50 mins. I have never cooked anything with wheat flour so I don't know if maybe that was the reason it was so dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Split3ways

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
I doubled the banana. bread is so moist and sweet. the best banana bread i've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States