Banana Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I just made this recipe for my 17 month old (for easy breakfasts) and it turned out great. I halved the recipe. I took the advice of some of the other reviews and used unsweetened applesauce instead of oil. I used 2 mashed bananas and I added 2 tablespoons of plain yogurt. Came out really moist and not too sweet. I made them as mini muffins (it made 1 full tray of 24 mini muffins) and separated them into sandwich bags with 2 or 3 in each bag and froze them. Oh, I also should say that I only baked them for about 20 minutes. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I love this recipe. It's good for you and tastes great. I've made it many times and never had a loaf turn out anything other than perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Eh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by outnumbered
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Flowery Branch, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
I made this into a dozen muffins, and baked for about 22 minutes. Overall, I found them good, certainly not sweet like some banana breads, but a little dry. Perhaps baking them that long was too much, or perhaps more than 3 bananas would have helped, which is what I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
The recipe is great. I add a cup of applesauce to make it more moist and for variation I'll sometimes add 1/2 cup dried cranberries & 1/2 cup of almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
I have made this recipe many times and in June when the strawberries were fresh I substituted strawberries for half of the bananas. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Absolutely love this bread!!! To alleviate any dryness, soak any nuts in a cup of warm water while preparing the rest of the recipe. This will allow them to soak up any fluid that they might later draw out of the bread causing dryness. Also, I added 1/2 cup of instant 5 grain oat cereal, a handfull of flax seeds, a small freshly pureed apple, and a tsp of allspice. Very moist and chewy. The family loves it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This is the best banana bread I've ever made!! I substituted 1/4 cup splenda baking mix for the honey and added 1/4 cup each of milk and sour cream. I replaced some of the butter with applesauce for extra moistness. Soooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This bread turned out fantastically! I substituted 1/2 cup of applesauce for the oil and threw in 1/4 cup dried figs. I also added 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 tsp nutmeg. I was a little worried about grittiness from the fig seeds, but the heartiness of the wheat made them barely noticable :) I may use another banana next time, just for some extra banananess (i used four). I'm taking a loaf to work tomorrow for my co workers, i just know they'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Hobart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
Excellent bread!! Great, nutritious breakfast or snack. One caution, though - while the recipe is pretty forgiving, don't mess with it too much. I did, and it didn't turn out well at all. So treat it nicely, and it will turn out really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States