Banana Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Because of health reasons, my husband and I are trying to eliminate refined and processed foods. This bread is delicious! I substituted maple syrup for honey. Instead of using veg. oil, I used 1/8 c olive oil and 1/2 c apple sauce. Reduced cooking time to 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann K
Living In: Estero, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Good starter recipe but next time I will add at least one maybe two more bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I would cook it for less time.....It got too dark and burnt around the edges. I might add some spices like cinamon. Other than that it was really good. The only banana bread I will contiue to make. My family loved it and its healthy for a snack or quick breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Diaz
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This is the absolute best banana wheat bread I've ever had .I would'nt change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Oldsmar, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I liked this recipe very much. I added about a cup of chocolate chips and some cinnamon as well. My loaf over baked a tad so next time I would only allow it to bake for about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Really good, healthy recipe. I made muffins as another reviews suggested because I always burn breads. They turned out really well! I added craisins and some apple butter. Next time I will add cinnamon as well. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
This wasn't as sweet or as moist as other banana breads I've tried but it was still good. I topped each slice with honey and that made it great. I also added cinnamon and nutmeg per some other reviewer's suggestions. Update: I made this again using vanilla yogurt in place of the oil, 4 very ripe bananas and cinnamon honey. This time it came out very moist and much more flavorful. - it didn't need the honey topping. I also watched the cooking time very closely and stopped it at 45 minutes so that it wouldn't dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Almost perfect! Only needs some flavorings like cinnamon and nutmeg. Texture was good and firm but not too dry. I would prefer it a bit more moist, but it was okay as is. We topped it with an oat streusel and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Everyone in my family, kids to adults, absolutely loved this bread. Very moist and rich. Hard to believe it's so healthful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
This is my absolute new favorite banana bread recipe! I grew up eating banana bread and this is the best ever! I used apple sauce instead of the oil, added extra vanilla and a teas of butter extract, and left out one of the egg yokes. I also laid a few pecans on the top of the loaf for more pecan flavoring. Lastly I added 1/2 cup chocolate chips and it turned out great! Slices beautifully and great for toasting and having plain or with coffee. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States