Banana Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
We just took these out of the oven and they are wonderful! I did make a few changes: 1. Added about a 1/4 cup of ground flax seeds 2. Used Agava syrup instead of honey(just didn't have honey on hand) 3. Added 1/2 of applesauce. We baked them as muffins for 15 minutes. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MilitaryWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
So glad I found this recipe! I did what many reviewers recommended and upped the bananas to 2 cups (~ 4 small to medium bananas) and used 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce instead of oil. I also used walnuts instead of pecans and added 1/2 cup of craisins. I substituted egg beaters whites for the eggs. It turned out great, very hearty and filling and plenty moist. It makes a great "breakfast bread"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Pretty good muffins. Baked for 25 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Thanks for this wonderful recipe. I've made this bread 3 times. If you're looking for a great-tasting, nutrition-dense banana bread that isn't high and fat and sugar, this is it. I use 4 bananas. I had trouble getting the bread out of my corning ware 9x5x3 loaf pan, so switched to using 2-8x4x2.5 metal pans. I set the timer for 50 minutes, and the bread was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Excellent. I have tried about 10 different banana bread recipes and this one is the best. It combines ease of making with being tasty and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This was AMAZING - so yummy, but also healthy as well!!! I used 2C of bananas, but other than that, followed the recipe. It got us a 9X4 loaf, as well as 12 muffins. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Suprisingly good recipe. You wouldn't know it's made with whole wheat flour and no sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
This recipe allows for lots of improvisation. I used sugar free syrup to save some extra calories. It was just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geekygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Because of health reasons, my husband and I are trying to eliminate refined and processed foods. This bread is delicious! I substituted maple syrup for honey. Instead of using veg. oil, I used 1/8 c olive oil and 1/2 c apple sauce. Reduced cooking time to 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann K
Living In: Estero, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Good starter recipe but next time I will add at least one maybe two more bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States